Baby Steps

After 29 years and a few months of living with myself…I know myself pretty well. And I know that I oscillate between uber organized and perpetual procrastination. Which, when applied to this blog project means that I’ll get off to a great start and scratch a few things off the list early…and then that last week of being 29 I’ll probably be scurrying to cook new things and read a few books and take that yoga class to try to shed the last of the 10 pounds I want to lose. So, On New Year’s day, I figured that I’d go ahead and get started on two of the goals that will take the longest to complete:

2. Run (complete) a 1/2 marathon
&
9. Lose 10 pounds

My husband found a 1/2 marathon training program that he wants to use to get ready for the Nashville 1/2 Marathon on April 28th, which is the same one I’m hoping to run (just a few work-related schedule conflicts to work out and hopefully I’ll be right beside him) but since I’m SO out of shape that I can’t even do Day One of his training program, I’ve got approximately 3 weeks to get in shape enough to begin training.  Which is half depressing and half inspiring.  And since I’m hoping that I can kill two birds with one stone, or in this case, cross off two blog goals with one training program, I figure that running my tail off to train for the 1/2 marathon will bring with it some weight loss.

January 1st, hubby and I started the day (and year) off right by walking two miles.  Yesterday, I got my butt to the gym and did 3 miles on the elliptical machine.  Today, it was back to the gym (its FREEZING outside in Nashville right now!) for 3.5 miles. Baby steps, I know, but they say that a journey of 1,000 miles begins with a single step.  I figure my 8.5 miles already this week means I only have 991.5 more till marathon.

I also weighed myself in Sunday at a start weight of one hundred-and-somethingthy-two lbs.  (See how I did that?  1~2 lbs.  You already know how old I am.  No WAY I’m revealing my weight as well.)  Hopefully we’ll see that mystery number drop to a lower mystery number in the days to come.  Progress, people, progress.

To answer your questions, Mary-Hall….

1. I’m making headway on goals #2 & #9!  What is your first goal going to be?

2. A pedicure is a must.  I feel that it will be important to my feet as well as yours for me to be there for this milestone. 🙂  And while I can’t think of better circular-saw instructors than yourself and your handy hubs….I’m thinking practically that maybe I should check off one of my “try a new food” boxes in February.  Maybe we could cook something new together?

Cheers!

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Baby Steps”

  1. Merry says :

    If this old woman can run 8 1/2 marathons and 1 whole marathon..I know you can do it! Just remember it takes more than running your butt off to actually run your butt off! You have to watch your food intake as well! That all finally clicked with me and lo and behold I lost over 50 lbs!!

  2. Mark says :

    Awesome start to your blog! Can’t wait to read more. -M

  3. Momma says :

    Gee, you’ve both inspired me so much, I wish I could think of 61 things to do before I turn 61. Ah, taking a dive in Columbus Lake on New Year’s Eve might count as 1, but that was not really a “planned” dive. Have fun with your accomplishments, and I’ll have fun reading about them!

