Brain Freeze

Man! Reading your last post, Bethany, I feel like I should have an exercise-related item on my list. I’ll have to think on that.

So, hmm what SHOULD I do first? Looking at my list just now, I think I have stage fright or writer’s block or something.  Deer in the headlights!! I am making plans. As opposed to your state of organization/procrastination, I am more of an over-planner.  Plan, google, list, calendar, google, think, etc etc.  My problem will be getting from plans to action.  So I will start with one that needs little planning and just a smidge of action:

21. Finish re-upholstering couch

One lovely August day, I saw a free couch on Craigslist, a perfect opportunity to try my hand at re-upholstery.

That August was in the year 2008.  It was finished in 6 weeks, all but the seat cushions.  That’s right, since 2008 I have had a couch in my living room with cushions that don’t match……….  …. …. I finally finished 2 out of 3 a couple months ago.  So now one is left. And now it is 2012.  And all that stands between me and a finished couch is 3 measly hours.  Get to your sewing machine woman! Deadline: THURSDAY of THIS week.

8. Read one book per month

One more thing: Does anyone have any book suggestions? I have one idea but only one, and its checked out indefinitely at the local library.

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “Brain Freeze”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    I’m impressed that you would have attempted reupholstering a couch! If it makes you feel any better, I started building a dulcimer back around 2008 – and guess what – I finished it just a couple months ago. In addition to learning a great deal in the building process, it was an exercise in patience and perseverance. Think of the satisfaction you will achieve in finishing that LAST CUSHION!!! Go for it! (Maybe I’d better go practice my dulcimer!)

  2. Alice Duett says :

    I am thinking about getting Tina Fey’s new book. I think she’s hilarious! Hoping her book will be just as funny.

  3. Melissa says :

    Book suggestions: the help, water for elephants, the girl wi the dragon tattoo series, Rebecca, atonement, the happiness project, American wife, the fountainhead, ender’s game, the tipping point, freakonomics…

