21. Finish re-upholstering couch

#21 is done and done. Now I can enter my third decade with all matching couch cushions.

For anyone else thinking about re-upholstering, here’s what I learned.

  • The process is really simple:  Remove each piece of of the old fabric, one at a time.  Keep up with the order you pulled them off.  Use the old pieces as templates to make identical new pieces.  Put the new ones back on in the same order.
  • Visible seams are the hard part.  It’s a heck of a lot easier to cover something where you just stretch and staple.
  • Buy an electric stapler.  $20.
  • oh, and buy extra fabric.  There’s a hidden party going on under these cushions, and very little matching!!

And now, the big reveal.

I feel like such a grown-up.  Maybe I should go floss… or balance my checkbook….

Bethany:  Love the recipe exchange concept.  If I come across anything good, I’ll let you know.  My #2, cooking from scratch for a week, is going to require some serious research.

Tags: ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “21. Finish re-upholstering couch”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    The couch looks great! (Now, I just happen to have a chair in my living room that needs reupholstering…………)

  2. vivagood says :

    Ok I need more info on this couch recovering. We have a overstuffed chair and ottoman I really want to recover but when I got a quote, it was $600. Might as well buy a new one…or do it myself (gulp). Where did you learn to do this?

    • maryhalljohnson says :

      Seriously – you can do it! It is not that hard. I read some random blog posts, just some generic google-ing. Start by pulling off the top-most piece of fabric. Like, the dust ruffle, or the piece on the back of the chair. Take good pictures or notes so you don’t forget how things go. And also, try to pick a fabric that’s similar in weight to the old fabric. My fabric was lighter weight and that caused the stuffing to sort of bulge and lump in places where it hadn’t before…

