Meet my friend JoAnn

I just met her last week.  And already, we’re pretty much besties.  I’m well acquainted with Michael’s (just down the street from us), but when they didn’t carry the type of fabric dye I wanted for a project, I checked out my favorite DIY blog, Young House Love, who mentioned that they had purchased the same dye at JoAnn’s, so I immediately Googled, located one in Franklin, TN and headed out.  Where I fell in love.  L-O-V-E.  It’s the most massive craft store that I’ve ever been in.  AND they sell fabric.  This is key as the only fabric store I’ve found in Nashville is super high-end and unaffordable.  So anyway.  Obviously on my list is

7. Re-upholster an arm chair or build a piece of furniture

So I bought fabric!  I know, I know, that’s not actual re-upholstery, but it’s a step.  (might I add that I got the fabric on a 50% off sale plus a 20% off my total purchase coupon! score!).  I plan on starting the re-do soon….and many pictures will accompany the process (hey…if MH did her entire couch, I can do a chair….right? Right?).  For now, though…I CAN say that I have successfully made 6 pillow covers for our couch throw pillows…zippers and all.  So I’ve re-upholstered something, sort-of, and I’ll tackle that chair, you know, when I have time.

In other updates?  I did 16.16 miles this week! Yeah Yeah!  I weighed in today (the start of week 3!) at an awesome one-hundred-and-somthingthy-eight pounds!  That’s right.  If you’re following along and doing the math, I started at 1_2 lbs and now I’m down to 1_8 pounds!  That’s 5 pounds of weight-loss!  Could it be that I’m already half way to accomplishing #9????

9. Lose 10 pounds

I’m beyond excited.  (and I have a manicure appointment on Thursday because I STILL haven’t bitten my nails.  I’m on a dad gum roll!)  I also made mashed potatoes for the first time this week, although I’m not counting that as a new recipe, because seriously, it’s mashed potatoes.  How have I made it to 29 without having mashed potatoes?  Anyway.  New things abound.

Mary-Hall: Oh my goodness.  That photo is hilarious!  I love it!  For the record, my date was super polite and nice, although I think I overwhelmed him a bit.  (My date was the one in the middle….because really, looking at that photo, you can’t really tell who I was there with.)  I was a bit chatty in high-school, and he was, um, well, not chatty.  🙂  I can’t wait to drag more photos out of the vault with you over the next few months.

Question: Have any of you ever recovered a chair?  Do you have any tips? Success stories? Tales of horror? I’d love to hear!

Tags: , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

4 responses to “Meet my friend JoAnn”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Okay, Beej, when you get your chair done, you can do mine. We took the small blue wing chair to an upholsterer today – he wants $195 for labor and 7 yds. of fabric, starting at $23/yd. That’s roughly $350 for a chair that was maybe $225 new. (But I love the chair!) 😦

  2. Dreama says :

    Oh, I could have introduced you sooner, but I assumed everyone knew “her”. Love the J’s superstores…mine is not a ss though. Between Joann & Michael, they have it all.
    Sounds like you girls are having fun with the lists. I’m routing for you both!

  3. vivagood says :

    I’m totally on a lose 10 lbs goal too. While the hubby can eat whatever he wants and look the same (blast!), all this marital eating has done me in. I’ve been back in spin class trying to bike it off. AND I wanna re-cover my floral chair. But that means getting a sowing machine and finding time, not to mention figuring it out. BUT still cheaper than the almost $600 the upholsterer quoted me. bleh.