What’s been cookin’

One of my goals is to cook entirely from scratch for one week.  I’m kinda still thinking on how the details of this will play out.  Processed?  Pre-packaged? Stick to the edges of the grocery store only, nothing from the middle?  What about raisins?  What about canned green beans?

Anyway, I’m gearing up for this by trying new recipes such as:

  • Hummus / Avocado / Roasted Tomato Toasts. Love love loved this one. I saw it on Pinterest.  Its technically and appetizer but I served it as a side dish one night. Because what in the world would I need an appetizer for? There are no bookclubs, bridge clubs, or garden clubs in this household. However the recipe was still awesome.
  • Spaghetti with Kale, Bacon, & Brie.  Also awesome. See, does spaghetti count as “processed”? I don’t know, still waiting on a ruling from the referee.  My grocery store didn’t have kale so I used mustard greens, a first for me!  Good though, and very mom-of-a-toddler-friendly:  Basically uses just one pan and only 10 minutes or so.
  • BHG’s Gooey Chocolate Pudding Cakes.  Surprisingly easy, super rich and chocolatey.  I made them in cupcake tins and I DO NOT recommend that, especially if you plan to serve these to guests.  They ran all over and I had to scrape the cake bits off the top of the cupcake pan and stick them back into the pudding.  They still tasted great and the cake+pudding texture was heavenly.

So, anyone else have anything to share?  I’m always on the lookout for new things to try!

Tags: ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

2 responses to “What’s been cookin’”

  1. Bethany says :

    you could always do the cinnamon rolls for breakfast one day…..what about a soup? I have a fabulous chicken chili recipe I can send you…you could totally get more than one meal out of it also. (is re-heating things you’ve already cooked against the law?)

  2. maryhalljohnson says :

    Oh heavens, homemade leftovers are definitely OK. And yes please! on the recipe!

