Foto Friday – Episode 4

Since the last Foto Friday was such a doozy, I’m taking it easy this week.  So, all you mutual friends of ours from high school can breathe easy.

This story is titled:

When Bethany Got Delayed in Denver Overnight

or alternately,

What to Do with Your Ceramic Yard Deer

One afternoon in 2008, I got a phone call from Bethany that went something like… “uh well turns out I’m stuck at the Denver airport over night.. and my flight doesn’t leave until 5pm tomorrow.”  And then we both squealed like little girls.  (eeeeeeeeeee!!!!)  Bethany was flying from Nashville to the west coast and somehow got delayed right here in Denver.  What a lucky turn of events!

I picked her right up and we listened to my old Hanson CD all the way home, because I’ve lost the case and therefore I store the CD in my car’s cd changer.  Its the safest place for it.  Anyway so I scooped Bethany from the airport and brought her to my brand new first house.  My husband and I had just moved in about a month before.  We had just started renovating.  But, we had not yet figured out what to do with the yard ornaments left by the previous owner.

As you may have guessed, the previous owner was a bit older than us.  We later found out that she purchased one of the deer specifically for us as a “welcome home” gift.  How sweet! and also weird!

Obviously Bethany loved them.

So yeah, we spent Bethany’s impromptu visit, courtesy of the airlines, doing usual stuff.  She made it to her destination the next day.

A few days later, I decided to list the lovely deer on Craigslist, that they might find a new home.  On a whim, I listed them at $90 for these three and one other little fella from the back yard.

By the time I got back to my email, ~2 hours later, I had about eight desperate responses.  “OH PLEASE I want them!”  “I’ll drive up immediately” “I’ve always wanted some of these but never been able to afford them”

Heartwrenching stuff folks.

What to do but offer them to the first lady.  She came right away.  All the others had to be disappointed.  Trust me, people of Craigslist: I wish I had concrete deer to sell to all of you.

That’s the end of the story, except that I got more than one snide comment from neighbors about what had happened to the deer and why did we get rid of them? Why DID we get rid of them?

Let me clarify what the morals of this tale are, in case you have lost track:

  • First, if you ever get delayed in Denver, let me know!  Its a 24/7 party over at our house.
  • And second, do not underestimate the monetary value of yard ornaments.  I should’ve listed ’em for higher.. obviously.
Tags:

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

One response to “Foto Friday – Episode 4”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Hilarious! I remember the “getting ‘stuck’ in Denver” incident (you sure you guys didn’t PLAN that flight delay?)
    The “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure” adage is so true! That goes for garage sales as well as Craigslist. Glad the deer found such an appreciative home.

