Soup-er Bowl Sunday

A few posts ago, MH told her of plans to cook from scratch for an entire week and so I mentioned to her that I had a yummy black bean chili recipe and she asked if I’d pass it along.  And then I decided it would be a good Super Bowl tribute to just post the recipe here in case any of you needed a last-minute meal for a party crowd tonight, or something with great re-heatable potential for a family of one or two.

I created this recipe about two years ago after hunting for a black bean and chicken chili recipe and not finding one that I loved.  Basically, I took about 3 recipes I’d found in cookbooks and on the internet and moshed them into one, and it’s pretty yummy if I do say so myself.  And although I haven’t actually tried it, I think it would be a great vegetarian dish if you just left out the chicken or I think you could also try replacing it with browned ground turkey meat for another lean option, or ground beef for something heartier!  Enjoy!  Oh, and I’ve grouped the ingredients into groups because it makes more sense that way to me.  🙂

Bethany’s Blackbean and Chicken Chili

Ingredients:

*5 large skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into 1 inch cubes

*8 & 1/3 cups water

*1 & 2/3 cans tomato paste (6 oz) (OR use roasted garlic flavored tomato paste)

*3 tablespoons & 1 teaspoon cooking oil

Seasoning: 

                         *ground sea salt (to taste)

                         *1 tablespoon & 2 teaspoons chili powder (less or more to taste)

                         *2 & 1/2 teaspoons cumin

                         *ground black pepper (to taste)

                         *3/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper

Vegetables: *1 yellow onion (diced)

                          *1 & 2/3 medium green bell pepper (diced) (OR use two small bell peppers)

                           *1 & 2/3 medium red bell pepper (diced) (OR use two small bell peppers)

                           *1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced (OR use one 4 oz can of diced jalapenos or diced green chili  peppers)

                           *6 roma tomatoes (diced) (OR us 1 & 1/2 cans of diced tomatoes with or w/o green chili peppers mixed in.)

                            *1 & 2/3 cans whole kernel corn (drained) (approx 15 oz)

                            *4 cans of black beans

                            *1 & 2/3 bunches fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions:

1. heat oil in a large pot over medium heat.

2. place chicken in pot until chicken is brown on all sides.

3. mix all spices (salt, pepper, cumin, etc.) together and then add to the pot with chicken.

4. mix in FRESH veggies (not canned) (bell peppers, etc.)

5. pour in 1/2 of the water.

6. cook for 10 minutes or until about 1/2 the water has evaporated.

7. mix in CANNED veggies (black beans, corn, etc.)

8. reduce to low heat and mix in remaining water.

9. mix in tomato paste.

10. simmer for 30 minutes or until thickened.  stir occasionally.

11. to serve, top with chopped cilantro!  Other topping options are shredded cheddar jack cheese and/ or sour cream.  Eat with a spoon, or use blue corn tortilla chips to scoop up the chili instead of a spoon!

*note:  this makes approximately 10 servings of chili! (depending on how big an appetite you have!)

Crowd pleasing re-heats: What’s your favorite food to serve for a crowd or make to eat and reheat?

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Soup-er Bowl Sunday”

  1. maryhalljohnson says :

    Quick question: where did this recipe come from? I’m curious because it calls for so many “1 and 2/3” measurements.

  2. bethanybordeaux says :

    hah. it came from me and my math skills. i combined a bunch of recipes that believe it or not made about 15 servings each, so I had to do some math. I know it’s a little weird. I should re-figure the amounts and make them a little more normal.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. My Week Sans Preservatives « Two Girls Turning Thirty - 02/12/2012
