Nuevo Item de la Lista

Yes.  I’ve added a new item to the B’s list page.

24. Learn to speak Spanish

I know.  It’s not a tidy quantitative goal like losing 10 pounds or running a half marathon.  But we’re going qualitative here folks.

I’ve always regretted that I can’t speak a second language.  I took 4 years of Latin from 6th grade through 9th grade plus a year of French.  I could probably still conjugate some Latin verbs for ya (my 6th grade teacher used to make us march around the block in height order reciting conjugated verbs.  Not kidding.  He called it “choir practice.” but other than that, I can’t say that I really remember anything from those years of language classes.  Spanish has always fascinated me.  My dad traveled fairly extensively in Central America back in the day and speaks pretty good conversational Spanish.  My grandfather started teaching himself to read and write in Spanish when he turned 80.  (He said he wanted to keep his mind active and learn something new.) and for the rest of his life, he worked at it, even getting to the point where he’d have my cousin in New Mexico mail him the Spanish newspaper published in Albquerque.

I brushed up on some basic Spanish nouns before I went to Peru a few years ago in the hopes that I could get by.  I had an opportunity to try out my Spanish when I got separated from my group and had to catch a cab on my own to find them.  While I got where I was going, which was the ultimate goal, I did have an epic fail when I tried to share the Gospel in spanish to the cabbie.  I ended up telling him “I think you are Jesus Christ and I am in love with you.”  Whoops.  Fortunately the guy was very good-natured about the whole thing and pulled out a Bible from the glove compartment to assure me that he too was a Christian.  Sigh.

So I know I won’t become fluent by August, but I’d love to know the basics.  Numbers.  Colors.  Useful phrases.  Basic sentence structure.  How to not accidentally tell a cabbie I think he’s a deity and profess my love.  So I’m thinking I won’t be checking this one off until the deadline…but expect some progress reports here and there and possibly a Spanish word or phrase of the week so you fine folks can learn along with me….or correct my grammar.  🙂

Buenos Noches!

Tags:

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

4 responses to “Nuevo Item de la Lista”

  1. maryhalljohnson says :

    Love this. Learning French is on my “life list”, as you will see if I ever get around to posting it. Kudos for getting on the ball!

  2. Momma Daniel says :

    If I’m not mistaken, you have a wonderful computer program that may help you.

    And I just realized by M.H.’s comment that her “Life List” has nothing to do with birdwatching.

  3. hannah says :

    you should get the free podcasts of coffee break spanish. LEGIT.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Progress Reports « Two Girls Turning Thirty - 02/14/2012
