Progress Reports

Remember when you were a kid and you got report cards every 6 weeks?  Well, we’ve been at this thing for 7 and a 1/2 weeks now, so I decided today is report card day here at twogirlsturningthirty.  At least for me.  Mary-Hall had hers a few days ago.  Today is also a holiday.  Well, besides Valentines Day (which only seems to make single people lonely and those with significant others feel obligated to spend money.)  Today is my Half-Birthday.  Yup.  Today I’m officially twenty-nine-and-a-half years old. (So next time all the obnoxious hearts and cupids in the stores get you down, just think, “happy half-birthday, Bethany!” and all will be well.)  But I digress.  Back to my progress report.  Because people seem to like stats, I’m going to start my post with a good ole statistical breakdown.

List Items Completed – 4 (15%)

List Items w/ Multiple Parts Partially Completed (Xs)- 3 (10%)

List Items Begun in Some Form or Fashion – 6 (20%)

List Items I Haven’t Spent Any Time On – 14 (47%)

List Items that are Still Blank – 5 (17%)

So two of the bullet points with the highest percentages are the ones I haven’t even started and the ones I haven’t even come up with yet, which isn’t good news.  But I’m not going to dwell on that.  I’m going to focus on the positive here people.  In 7.5 weeks, I’ve checked off 4 list items, partially checked off 3 additional items, and begun the process of completing six others. That’s a total of 13 list items that have gotten some serious attention.  Which is pretty awesome in my opinion.  And because Mary-Hall’s breakdown was so easy to read, I’ve stolen her cool little chart-thingy and plugged in my own goals and reports just so you can re-cap it all in one place.  And because I like Color Coding, I’ve made the goal either green for completed, a plum color for “in progress of some sort” and orange for not even started.

 Goal Progress
1. Visit a new country check check!  Belize and Mainland Mexico!
2. Run (complete) a 1/2 marathon I started running on January 1st, and except for the one rest day I take a week (to prevent injury) I’ve been running every day.  I’m up to around 4 miles now and you’ll get an entire post on this sometime this week!
3. Read 8 books (one a month)  I’ve got one “X” next to this because I read “On The Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness”  Hope to have another book review for you soon!
4. Learn to use a circular saw We own a circular saw (thanks to my dad) so that’s a start…but haven’t had the courage to give ‘er a whirl yet.  (get it? a whirl? circular?)
5. Visit a new state No progress here yet (besides the state of self-discipline which is totally new!) My choices are Alaska, Arizona, The Dakotas, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia & West Virginia, and Wyoming
6. Cook 8 new recipes (one a month)    Last month, I made the yummy “P90X Breakfast Muffins” which seemed to bring our blog lots of search engine traffic!  Cooking another new one tonight to celebrate Valentine’s Day My Half-Birthday.
7. Re-upholster an arm chair or build a piece of furniture You might remember that I scored some fabulous fabric at JoAnn’s on an amazing sale last month to re-upholster this great Craigslist find of a chair.  The fabric however is still on the roll in the closet……
8. Learn to change the oil in my car So far the fine folks at Midas have still been getting this one done. I’ll totally tackle it when the weather gets warmer though.
9. Lose 10 pounds Totally well on my way on this one!  Just yesterday morning I hopped on the scale to discover I’d lost another 1/2 pound. So total weight loss since Jan 1 is up to 5.5 lbs.  Not too shabby!  That’s more than halfway there!
10. Sew (make) a Christmas stocking No progress here either.  However, a new Wal-Mart opened up down the street complete w/fabric section, & I got a JoAnn’s coupon in the mail…hoping to find great fabric on sale in this off season!
11. Go caffeine-free for 7 days straight Hah.  With all the traveling I’ve been doing, this one probably won’t happen until early summer when I get a break from the road.
12. Stop biting my nails Check Check! My nails are so long now!  (I stopped biting on Jan. 4th)  To be fair…I did bite my thumbnail two days ago because it was SO LONG..but then I grabbed some clippers and took care of the length that way.
13. Write a song No progress.
14. Stain master closet organizer Again, no progress.  Just haven’t had time to take everything out of the closet..etc……
15. Surprise my husband (somehow) Done and Done!  His birthday vacation to N’awlins was a huge success...and just in case that wasn’t enough, I tracked down this t-shirt he’s been wanting and gave it to him for Valentines Day My Half-Birthday  this morning!
16. Taste 8 new foods (one a month) Pimento Cheese Spread, baby.  7 more foods to go.
17. Blog more regularly This post is post #15!  That’s an average of 2 per week.  I’d say that’s more regularly than the 2 blogs a year I was posting on my old blog.
18. Take a yoga class Groupon has been purchased.  Planning on cashing it in mid-March.
19. Do some sort of musical & kid-related volunteer project This one was suggested by my friend Alice and it’s an awesome one.  Unfortunately, I haven’t had time to work on it yet.
20. Take an official cooking class Hubs and I have looked online at options, but nothing on the books yet.
21. Learn Bach’s Concerto No.2 in E Major I own the sheet music.  That’s about it.  However, here is a (poor-ish quality) YouTube recording of the first movement for your listening pleasure. (There are 3 movements total.)
22. Memorize the book of James I’ve re-learned James 1:1-2.  Not a great start, but a start nonetheless.
23. Watch Gone With The Wind Hoping to organize a girls night for this one.
24. Learn to speak Spanish Ningún progresso.  No Progress.  (I used a free translator ap for this one)
25. Read up through Luke 13 OR finish reading the entire Bible At the moment I should be 29% finished with this one (according to the ap), but I’m currently 14 days behind on my reading.  Hoping to catch up on a few more days today.
26.
27.
28.  Feel free to comment with any suggestions of what I should do for list items 26-30!  Of course I reserve the first right of refusal, but I’d love some ideas!!
29.
30.
About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Progress Reports”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Being your Mom, I know I’m a little biased, but I think your report card should reflect “weighted grades” for “Visit a New Country” AND “Surprise My Husband,” considering that those were pretty monumental accomplishments (in comparison to “Taste New Food”).

    I also believe that you should at least get “partial credit” for the upholstery goal, considering what an outstanding job you did on your throw pillows, which are as professionally covered as they could be.

    Have you ever read John Grisham’s “The Testament” that I believe I gave you a few years ago, when you were up to your eyeballs in school-related reading? If it’s been forgotten on a bookshelf, let me suggest you put that on your “one-a-month” list.

    Congrats on the daily running, 5.5 lbs., and other partials!

    Suggestion: Something mandolin-related. How about learn a song every 2 weeks?

