February Book Review: Kisses from Katie

Since Bethany is in Africa this week, its perfect timing for me to post my February book review.  The book is titled Kisses from Katie, by Katie Davis.  Katie started and runs Amazima Ministries in Uganda.  It took me nearly three weeks to read, not because its long, but you can’t just skim through it.  I found myself needing to let each chapter sink in a bit before moving on to the next one.

Katie has a blog, similarly titled: Kisses from Katie.  I can’t remember how I came across it, probably a year ago or so.  But since then, I’ve noticed it referenced by various friends on Facebook.  Katie’s from Nashville (its the center of the universe, apparently), so there is the southern connection, but I think most people who happen across her will find her story fascinating.  She is doing something that’s crazy in the eyes of the world and everybody.  She lives in Uganda, where she started a project to provide for the basic needs of underprivileged kids.  And she has adopted 14 little girls.  14!  Oh also, she is ~23ish.

What drew me to her blog, besides the craziness, is her incredible faith. She has a faith in her Creator that is truly inspiring. I wanted to read her book because I wanted hear the back story behind how she ended up where she is.  And that’s exactly what the book was.

As I said, its a challenging subject. She lives in the face of extreme hunger, disease, and suffering. Even just reading about the poverty situation there is hard. The place where my practical mind immediately goes is somewhere along the lines of “What is she going to do, personally adopt all the orphans in Uganda? How can feeding one more hungry person help when they will just be hungry again tomorrow? How can she invest so much emotional energy in that sick person when there are a gazillion more just like him?”. Katie answers these questions pretty directly:

I wanted to help them all.  God whispered that one is enough.  He assured me that He would hold the others while they wait for someone to come along and give them their milk and their medicine.  He doesn’t ask me to take them all but to stop for just one, because, as I do it for one of “the least of these” I do it for Him (see Matthew 25:40).

I’m still trying to wrap my brain around that.  That, and how can I serve “the least of these” too?  Here in Colorado or wherever?  So, I recommend this book.  It is challenging.

Tags: , , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer
