Foto Friday – Episode 9

This week we’re going back to high school – specifically, the last day of 9th grade. Now kids, there was no such thing as a “camera phone” in 1998. However, it was customary to bring in your film camera on the last day of the year, to capture whatever memories you could.

So here’s me and Bethany in homeroom. Our highschool started at 7:12am. It was RI-diculous. I suspect Bethany asked the person behind us to take our picture. I guess I am reading the year’s final Falcon Flyer.

Then naturally I say, “Oh, take one with mine too!”

And then after we got them developed – her’s into 3×5 and mine into 4×6 – we exchanged copies because we had both gotten doubles. (When’s the last time you did that?!?)

And here’s one more from that same day (notice my same tucked-in-and-bloused-out t-shirt), with our lovely guest blogger from earlier this week, Laura. And our 9th grade geometry teacher. And whoever framed the picture made sure to get the Channel One TV as well.

Tags:

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “Foto Friday – Episode 9”

  1. Bethany Bordeaux says :

    Can we also discuss the backpack I’m leaning on top of….I was SO proud of it because it was a Jansport…all the rage in the late 90’s. If I had any shot at being cool, I had to have one. Fortunately, Mary-Hall was selling her 8th grade Jansport in a garage sale so I forked out a few bucks for status sake. Can we laugh about that for a moment? Wow.

    • Anonymous says :

      OOH, I remember it now that you remind me. Clearly I upgraded to a purple one. And, I think we should also point out to our readers that said garage sale was co-hosted by BOTH of us to raise money for our upcoming trip to England. We also sold hot chocolate. And I believe we raised approx. ~$30.

  2. Laura says :

    SO funny! All I remember about that teacher was her “gee! I’m a tree!” joke on the first day. Yikes!

