Chair Re-Upholstry: Part One

If I ever call you and say, “I found this cool cheap/free piece of furniture that will look so cool once I re-upholster it!” …remind me that on March 20, 2012, I swore I would never-ever re-upholster anything ever again.

So obviously one of the things on my list is 7. Re-upholster an arm chair or build a piece of furniture.  I figured that if Mary-Hall can recover her couch, surely I could tackle an arm chair…man.  I had no idea what went into it!

I found this cool chair for $40 on Craiglist about 2 years ago and although crushed pink velvet isn’t typically my decor of choice, the chair was in great shape and at $40, I just couldn’t pass it up.  So it’s been living in all its pink-velvetness in our guest room for a while now and the other day I decided it was time to get that roll of fabric out of the closet and go for it.

My $40 Craigslist find in all it's pink-velvety glory. Hope that when I finish with it...it looks this good with it's new fabric!

This is the JoAnne's fabric I scored for the new chair! I love it!

Really the project wouldn’t be too bad if there weren’t literally thousands of staple-gun staples that have to be individually pried out with a flathead screwdriver and sometimes also require the assitance of a pair of pliers. I’m proud to say that after about 10 man-hours of work, I’ve gotten the old upholstry off the back and outer sides of the chair.  I’m excited to see this project through to fruition even though I have a long way to go.  I also have a deadline of April 19th of when this chair project absolutely, positively, MUST be finished….but more on that story in a later post!

Booger the cat does a quality-control inspection on my progress.

Have you ever re-upholstered anything?

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

6 responses to “Chair Re-Upholstry: Part One”

  1. maryhalljohnson says :

    OK. PEP TALK. Its going to be worth it in the end!! I love that fabric. Here’s one tip – if your new fabric is heavy enough, you don’t have to remove all of the old fabric. If you get to a section where you can see how to attach the new fabric without removing any more of the old, then there’s no reason you HAVE to take off the old. This is assuming the new fabric has enough strength to stand up against the raging pink velvet.

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Thanks for the pep talk! I totally need it. I was hoping I could just re-cover, but because of the scalloping in the front, I unfortunately need to take off most of the fabric. Plus the piping….ugh.

  2. maryhalljohnson says :

    Second, that tufted back looks like an advanced feature to me. Can’t wait to see how you do it. I’m curious what will happen when you remove the covered buttons. Will the whole thing spring apart like a jack-in-the-box?

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      yeah….I think it is an advanced feature. hopefully there will be no Jack-in-the-box action when I get to the buttons. If there is, you’ll probably get a teary/angry phone call from me requesting advice…or a pep talk…or both.

  3. Momma Daniel says :

    LOVE your new fabric! Let’s just hope that my grandcat DOESN’T. And remember – WHEN you finish your chair, I have that lovely little wing chair that may be calling for your new-found expertise.

