Chair Re-Upholstry: Part Deaux

I just realized that my first post about my crazy chair project occurred on March 20.  Today is April 16th. And yes, that means that a partly disembodied chair has been taking up one of the upstairs bedrooms for close to a month now.  ugh. (In case you didn’t read that first post and have no idea what I’m talking about, you can take a second to click through and read it here.)

However…..all that is about to change.  I’m on a chair mission this week.  In fact, I’m on lots of mission this week.  Why?  For several reasons.  First, Husband’s brother and his wife and two sweet munchkins (who went on our cruise with us back in January) are coming to visit.  And as if family coming to visit wasn’t enough reason to get the house spic and span and finish all those little things I’ve been meaning to do for months on end…..our house was selected to be on our neighborhood’s Spring Tour Of Homes! I’ve been dying to blog about this for a while now, and haven’t had the perfect topic to sneak it in until now!  I’m so excited about it! 

For those of you who don’t have an background on our house or neighborhood, I’ll give you the quick run down.  Our house was built in 1920.  Husband has lived here for about 12 years.  When we got married and I moved in a little over 2 years ago, we decided to make some changes.  Last spring we gutted our house.  Like turned-the-stairs-around, moved-the-kitchen-to-where-the-laundry-room-was, raised-the-ceilings-a-fo0t-and-a-half kind of gutted.  Our neighborhood is super cute and we’re fairly obsessed with it.  We live about 3 houses away from a great little avenue that boasts two excellent coffee shops (this one, and the other one), my favorite sandwich place of all time, an upscale burger joint, a couture denim boutique frequented by the likes of Gwyneth Paltrow and other people you might have heard of, a great new BBQ place, a trendy clothing and accessories shop and one of the yummiest pizza shops you can find outside of New York or Jersey.  Oh, and my hairdresser and a popsicle shop and a fish place.…you get the point.  One could almost come to Nashville and not even leave our street and have the best weekend trip.

We also have a great neighborhood farmer’s market which sets up in the park just down the block, and a fabulous movies-in-the-park and concerts-in-the-park series that sets up shop there as well.  Not only does the home tour raise neighborhood pride and give us a chance to meet our neighbors, but it also raises funds to keep our neighborhood programs going which is a wonderful thing.  If you’re free this Saturday and in the Nashville area, we’d be honored to have you buy a ticket and come see us! 

So last night I realized it was time to kick the chair project into high gear as it probably wouldn’t be the best ambiance for a home tour to have a chair with all the stuffing out of it in the middle of a bedroom on the tour.  So I worked for about 2 hours and then put another hour in this morning (And then took a break to write this blog for ya) and am about to lock myself in the room with it until it’s finished.  I WILL finish this and conquer the beast.  Here are some progress photos for your enjoyment.  And now….back to staples and stuffing and chair resuscitating.

This is what the chair looked like before….

My $40 Craigslist find in all it's pink-velvety glory. Hope that when I finish with it...it looks this good with it's new fabric!

And this is where we are progress wise.

Almost completely done removing the old fabric. What a difference!

And a view from the back. Yikes. I need to get to work!

My workshop. I need to reclaim this bedroom space quickly since one of my nieces needs to sleep in that bed this weekend!

My quality control assistant fast asleep after a busy night of attacking every piece of fabric as I removed it. (I couldn't resist. I haven't made you look at cat pictures in a while)

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

One response to “Chair Re-Upholstry: Part Deaux”

  1. maryhalljohnson says :

    Nice use of links here B. Obviously you were procrastinating. Get back to work!!!

