Swimming Upstream: Adding another “X” with a Salmon Dinner

As Mary-Hall and I started to realize that we need to turn up the heat on our lists in order to get everything done in time, I realized that we’re over 3 weeks into April and I haven’t cooked anything new yet this month! So last night I pulled out some of my cookbooks and started leafing through in search of a new recipe.

On page 149 of the cookbook above (which is a GREAT cookbook, I might add) I found one that was just what I was looking for.  Healthy, filling but not heavy, quick and simple, but something I wouldn’t have thought of putting together myself. 

So I headed to Whole Foods to stock up on fresh and yummy ingredients and for about $9.00 a person, and about 10 minutes of prep & cooking time later, (husband went to Redbox about a mile away to rent a movie: I started when he left, and was done by the time he came home) we had a really tasty dinner for two!  I’ve listed the recipe below along with a photo of my dinner plate.  Anything in (parenthesis) was in parenthesis in the recipe.  Anything written {inside the wavy parenthesis} is a note or opinion that I’ve added in.

Chili-Rubbed Salmon with Zucchini and Sauteed Corn

Ingredients

*4 skinless salmon fillets (6 ounces each)

*2 teaspoons chili powder {I’d recommend setting aside 2 portions of 1 teaspoon each}

*1 pound zucchini – quartered lengthwise and cut crosswise into 3 inch spears

*1 tablespoon olive oil

*2 cups of frozen corn (buy one 10 oz package)

*1 garlic clove, minced

*1/2 cup chopped scallions {my husband happens to hate scallions, so I omitted them w/great results}

*1 cup fresh tomato salsa (about half a 12 ounce container) {I used plain mild salsa, but you could get as creative as you wanted to, either by using medium or hot heat salsa, or by using a mango or blackbean salsa for different flavors}

*1 lime cut into wedges……..optional

Directions:

1. Heat broiler {on high} set rack 4 inches from heat.  Rub the salmon all over with salt and pepper.  Arrange on a rimmed baking sheet; sprinkle the top of the fillets with 1 teaspoon of the chili powder.  Arrange the qucchini around the salmon: sprinkle with the remaining teaspoon chili powder, and season with salt and pepper.

2. Broil until the fish is opaque throughout and the zucchini is tender, 8 to 10 minutes. {It took me 8 exactly in my oven.  Also, the zucchini looked a little dry on the outside, but were super juicy and yummy on the inside.  So no worries if they look dry….I bet they will taste amazing!}

3. Once you put your fish and zucchini in to broil, heat oil over high heat in a large skillet.  Add the corn and garlic: cook, tossing {or stirring}, until the corn is tender and beginning to brown, about 5 minutes. {Mine was perfect at 5 minutes exactly}.  Remove from the heat.  Stir in the scallions and salsa; season generously with salt and pepper.

4. Place the fillets on plates, and serve with the zucchini and corn mixture.  Garnish with lime wedges if desired.

-serves 4 – cook time about 8 minutes – total time about 12 minutes-

My plate of salmon! Yummy!

I’m still learning how to make things look as pretty as they taste, so, ignore my “plating” job.  If you cooked this, I’d recommend either serving the salmon on a bed of the corn, or spooning the corn over the salmon.  It would be a more gourmet presentation, and also I recommend eating the corn and the salmon together to get the most out of the flavors!  For the record, husband loved it as well and since I’d halved the recipe, we had no leftovers!

Tags: , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Swimming Upstream: Adding another “X” with a Salmon Dinner”

  1. maryhalljohnson says :

    K, why is the tuna limited to tuna salad? And speaking of end of month goals… 5 days.. no book… tsk tsk tsk.. I need to get on that.

