Up in My Grill — #27 is DONE

Shame post here folks. Did you know that I haven’t been to the dentist in quite some time? Haven’t been since we moved to Colorado. When was that, you ask? Oh 2008ish.  i.e. 4.5 years since my last dental cleaning.

This is not my mouth but it could be if I don't start going to the dentist more regularly.

List of excuses:

  • I don’t really like going to the dentist.
  • I don’t like calling people on the phone.
  • Keeping up with my insurance information is a hassle.
  • I can’t be responsible in all areas of my life simultaneously.

That last one is the honest truth.  Am I the only one like that?  Besides my 30×30 list here, I have a whole bunch of other lists, some written down but mostly in my head, with more menial things like what I need from the store and what needs cleaning and who I need to email.  And some things on each list just languish longer than they should.  Don’t know why.  Procrastination.  Fear of running out of things to do.  Love of carrying around lists in my head.  ha ha.  I guess its sort of related to the fact that there are no immediate consequences to not getting your teeth cleaned.  I manage to do most things that have penalties – paying bills, taking out the trash, brushing my teeth.

Finally sucking it up and getting something done always feels great, like a burden has been lifted.  Today is that day.  We’ve been saying that we needed to get to a dentist for at least 2.5 of the 4.5 years we’ve lived out here. (All the while paying dental insurance premiums, mind you.) And now it’s done, just like that!

27. Go to the dentist!

Now was that so hard?  No.  The best part is, now that we have our next check-up already scheduled, it won’t be a problem at all.  The worst part is, I actually have to go to the dentist again in 2 weeks.  MMhmm.. 2 small cavities.  What do you expect, Mary-Hall???  There may be no immediate consequences, but there are consequences.

So what else am I slacking on?  hmm… oil change.  There’s one.  I’ll hang my irresponsibility hat on that hook for a few days.

And a question for the audience: What are you slackin’ on and why?

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Strawberry Lemonade Ice Cream « Two Girls Turning Thirty - 04/25/2012
