Strawberry Lemonade Ice Cream

The weather in Colorado has been perfect lately – just warm enough that all I want to do is sit outside and eat ice cream.  And what does this have to do with my 30×30 list?  Nothing, except that I’ve got to do something to counteract all this exercising and going to the dentist.

The truth is, I really love making homemade ice cream.  Its so simple (or at least it can be).  It tastes fabulous, better than store-bought, and is more natural… i.e. less preservatives, colorings, etc.  I got a Cuisinart Ice Cream Machine for my birthday last year and haven’t looked back since.  Lately I’m making up my own recipes and I think I’ll post a few here on the blog just for my own record keeping.  Making up my own mixes means we get to eat whatever I feel like at the time, and with the warm weather, what I feel like is CITRUS CITRUS CITRUS.  So here’s my latest flavor:

Strawberry Lemonade

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 lb of strawberries
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • juice and pulp from two lemons

1. Slice up the strawberries and cover with 1/2 cup of sugar.  Stir them to coat.  Stick in the fridge for an hour or so.

2. Puree the strawberry sugar mix.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk the 2 eggs until your forearms start to hurt.  (a couple of minutes.)

4. Add the 3/4 sugar to the eggs gradually and continue whisking for another minute.

5. Add the cream, milk, lemon juice, and strawberry puree.  Mix em all up.

6. Freeze according to the directions on your ice cream maker.  For mine, you just dump the mix in and come back in ~22 minutes.  Then dump that into an airtight container and stick in the freezer.  A few more hours in the freezer and….

7. That’s it!

ONE TIP: For the first batch, I didn’t puree the strawberries, thinking they would add some nice texture.  It does add texture but not that nice! Frozen strawberry slices don’t taste that good.  So definitely puree them.

The results are a great balance of sweet and tart, just right for summer.  The initial feedback I’m getting from my focus group is very positive!

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

One response to “Strawberry Lemonade Ice Cream”

  1. Bethany Bordeaux says :

    A) this sounds amazing. Gonna have to pull our ice cream maker out of the cabinet and give it a whirl.

    B) holy smokes that baby is getting big! Such a cutie! I love it.

