Sweet Potato Fries!

I hesitated to count this as a new recipe because it’s so easy, but after giving it some thought (while I steamed some broccoli) I decided why wouldn’t I post it?  I never put a stipulation that the recipes I tried had to be complicated, require expensive ingredients or take hours of slaving away in the kitchen.  I just said they had to be new.  As in, recipes I’ve never made before.  And tonight when I made these fries for dinner, it was the first time I’ve ever made fries of any kind, so it totally counts. Besides, if you’re like me, you want to learn to cook things that are easy, cheap and healthy and this one fits the bill on all three.  So behold…I bring you a “how-to” on making the yummiest sweet potato fries!

Mmmmm, mmmmmm good! Fresh out of the oven and ready to eat!

{For some reason, the lighting in this photo makes these look like normal-potato fries, not sweet potato fries, but trust me, in real-life, they were a beautiful orange.}

I swiped this recipe from the appendix of my friend Annie’s book, From Head to Foot.  Remember when I read that?  Anyway.  I’ll reproduce it here exactly as she wrote it, and then add a footnote with tips from my experience making it.  (p.s. you can find this on page 142 of the book)

Yup.  That’s really the entire thing.  Easy, right?  And deeee-lish.  So here are my footnotes…

1. I cut them in strips instead of rounds because that’s how husband prefers his fries.  The sweet potato I used was HUGE so I only needed one and we had more than enough fries.

2. The suggested temperature and time (400 degrees and 30 minutes) were PERFECT in my oven.

3. I took a gallon zip-lock bag, poured in about 1/4 a cup of olive oil and added the cracked pepper, ground sea salt and some cinnamon.  I then added the strips of sweet potato, sealed the bag, and shook the whole thing well (while holding it over the sink in case it popped open!).  Then I poured the contents of the bag on a cookie sheet.

4.  I know the recipe says to use a little sugar, but in the spirit of keeping this whole thing as healthy as possible, i left out the sugar and only used the pepper, salt and cinnamon.  And they tasted amazing.  I’d say the sugar is totally optional, but if I had used it, I’d have used brown sugar.

5. We ate them with steak and steamed broccoli.  They would also be great with burgers or hotdogs at your next cookout!

I love that my “notes” were longer than the actual recipe.  haha. I’d highly recommend this for families with kids as well….it’s a great alternative to using pre-packaged fries in the deep fryer from the frozen section…it costs the same/less and is super healthy and easy.

Question: What is your favorite quick and easy side dish?

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

5 responses to “Sweet Potato Fries!”

  1. vivagood says :

    I made roasted sweet potatoes last night too. I added a little tyme and they were delish. My sweet potatoes weren’t orange though. So weird….I’ve never eaten on that was so light in color.

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      I’ve heard of yellow sweet potatoes (And actually seen them in stores) where the meat is a light yellow. It weirds me out too though! Haha. Thyme on roasted sweet potatoes sounds yummy too! Glad you liked!

  2. Momma Daniel says :

    I truly LOVE sweet potato fries, but usually just fix the store-bought frozen variety. After reading your review, I may have to be ambitious and actually cut some real ones up to try from scratch!

