Capitalizing on Alone Time

This week I am alone in the eastern time zone.  Child is in central.  Husband is in mountain.  So, to ward off loneliness I am staying extremely busy and I even have a little mental list of all the things I want to do this week to capitalize on my aloneness.

  • Run every day.  My training train has gotten way off the tracks.
  • Rehydrate.  Drink water and enjoy the high humidity.
  • Post my life list.  Its about the only list item I can accomplish this week, and I’ll have plenty of time alone with my thoughts.
  • Work a lot.  I love my job and I don’t get to focus on it like this very often.
  • Call an old friend or two.
  • Go shopping.
  • Eat sushi.  Just a craving lately.
  • Catch up on my Bible reading plan.

That should do it.  Friday will be here in no time.

I have a quick question:  Do people in the eastern time zone all stay up later than those in the rest of the country?  Or does no one watch the news here?  Because prime time TV is still on at 10 and the news doesn’t come on till 11.  Weird.

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

5 responses to “Capitalizing on Alone Time”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    As someone who lived in Eastern Time for the first 27 years of my life, I guess I can’t fairly answer, because when you’re VERY young, you HAVE to go to bed early, then when you get in your late teens and 20’s you tend to stay up later than older adults. However, I do remember my parents watching the news at 10:00, so perhaps it depends upon what station you watch.
    We so enjoyed seeing you and meeting Ransom. You sure have a little cutie there. Enjoy your “alone time,” and thanks for stopping by to see us on Sunday.

    Love ya!

  2. vivagood says :

    Here’s the TV watching kicker… when they say things like 11:00 est / 10:00 central… basically everyone other than those people in the central time zone watch things eastern time. It’s SO late! After 2 years in Cali, I still can’t believe that primetime TV starts at 8 instead of 7.

    • maryhalljohnson says :

      Aha – its starting to make sense. Actually Mountain TV is the same as Central. So that means all the metropolitan city people on the coasts stay up late while the country bumpkins in the middle go to bed early.. because we have to get up to milk the cows, feed the chickens, etc. of course.

