Eat At Joe’s

First, might I say that this is our 100th Post here at TwoGirlsTurningThirty!!  I was amazed this morning when I went to write this and realized the milestone!  We’ve both certainly accomplished our goals of blogging more. But, I digress….

Hubs and I are traveling again….we got to visit my Mom and Grandma this weekend to celebrate Mother’s day, and then last night we drove on to Birmingham, AL and got to eat dinner with some Compassion Leadership Development Program students from Kenya last night!  It was so fun to take these college students out to Joe’s Crab Shack for dinner…we ordered several fish plates and buckets of shrimp and crab legs for the table and ate family style.  And somewhere in the middle of all the fun of watching them peel shrimp and crab legs for the first time, I realized that I’d never eaten a crab leg.  So I tied on a bib and went for it.  And ended up eating two.

Eating my first crab legs at Joe’s Crab Shack with the Kenyan Compassion students.

So, I get to add another X to my #16….Taste 8 new foods, bringing my total up to 5 out of 8 new foods tasted.  Which means my overall “X’s completed” percentage goes up to 14 out of 24, or 58%!  That’s progress folks!

And just as a bonus photo to celebrate Mother’s Day a day late, here’s a picture of me with my grandma (who is 97!) and my mom taken yesterday!  Thankful to have this photo of 3 generations.

Me, Granny and Mom…3 generations of “Christophersen” women.

Tags: , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Eat At Joe’s”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    That looks like Alaskan King Crab leg, which I have no doubt IS a new food to check off your list. However, you have indeed tasted crab before as a child at the Jersey Shore, when we caught Blue Crabs in a trap or with a net and string with a hunk of chicken attached. 🙂 So now you have two types of crab on your list of “likes.” (Next, how about Stone Crabs!)

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Ah yes. But never King Crab legs….and I was so little I don’t remember ever tasting the crab meat from New Jersey. Just catching them!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. One Month To Go….. « Two Girls Turning Thirty - 07/14/2012
