Redwing Veggies

So this isn’t a new recipe for me, but I realized today as i cooked it up for lunch for the first time in years, that a) it’s been a few days since I blogged and b) this recipe makes me think of Mary-Hall, so I thought I’d share it with y’all even though it doesn’t help me accomplish a list item. Why does it make me think of Mary-Hall? Because I have distinct memories of cooking it in our kitchen while she hung out finishing work projects or just catching up.

Mary-hall and I lived together in three different locations during and after college

1) the “Flowood Futon Apartment” the summer after our junior year of college (where we had a total of 4 futons in a 3 room apartment)

2) the “Redwing Avenue Cottage” right after college (by far the homey-est of them all and where this recipe was born)

3) the “Free Family Ranch Style” right before I moved to Nashville (where we shared the downstairs master bedroom so we could avoid heating and cooling the upstairs, thus saving on our electric bill. We’re thrifty ones)

I was trying to discover tasty and cheap and healthy things to cook in the cute kitchen at Redwing, and one day when I surplus of veggies, this recipe was born.

1 yellow squash (small to med size)
1 zucchini (small to med size)
1 tomato (small to med size)
1/2 cup fresh mushrooms
2 tablespoons olive oil
Dash of Italian herbs
Optional: 1/3 cup of fresh or shredded mozerella cheese

Chop all veggies into bite size pieces. Throw everything in a skillet. Heat on stovetop on medium heat. Stir occasionally until veggies are slightly brown. Optional: top with shredded or fresh mozzarella cheese AFTER you remove from heat.

You could serve this as a side dish alongside chicken breast or something, but i love to just eat it as a meal. It’s super healthy and filling. The tomatoes sort of deteriorate and mix with the olive oil and spices to make sort of a thin yummy marinade-esque “sauce.”

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do! Feel free to add or subtract other veggies or seasonings.

20120523-193700.jpg

Tags: , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

2 responses to “Redwing Veggies”

  1. maryhalljohnson says :

    Aaaw Redwing. Sweet memories. Editorial note: House #3 was and always shall be referred to as “Pistachio Acres”. I have some excellent inspiration for photo friday now!!! And the recipe looks amazing.

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      “Pistachio Acres” I knew there was something you called it. All that came to mind was “Celery Meadows” and I knew that wasn’t right. And ps…the white cubes are fresh mozz, not tofu.

