22. Run the BolderBoulder 10K

#22 is officially down in the record books.  This morning I completed “America’s All-time Best 10K”, the BolderBoulder.  Me and 55,000+ others.

It is a very large scale event and I have to say, I was impressed by the overall smoothness.  They must have some incredible logistics people working on their team.  And as far as me running 6 miles in a row?  You know, it really wasn’t that bad.  I have to hand it to the old training schedule, which I barely even stuck with.  By the end I was taking serious liberties.

Today the weather was perfection.  Not to cold or hot, not to wind, lots of sun.  The route wasn’t nearly has hilly as I had feared.  Jogging with so many other people included the additional challenge of dodging walkers and kids and college boys in ape suits, but it was a welcome distraction.  My carefully orchestrated playlist worked really well:

  • First, bluegrassy stuff I always jog to… i.e. take it easy, this is no different from any other run.
  • Then some tracks off a new alternative CD I just downloaded… i.e. combat boredom with new tunes
  • Then 90s hip hop…  i.e you really ARE #1.  fast tempo! don’t slow down!
  • Last of course Hanson… i.e. you got this!

My only complaint was that I needed a couple more hip hop songs to keep up the pace right at the end.  Mmmbop came on a little too soon.

My running buddy was Dr J.  We’d never actually run together before today but still finished within a minute of each other.  Here we are at the starting line:

We conveniently neglected to take any post-race photos.  Of course no need because we looked exactly same.  Here are my official stats.  My finish time was a comfortable 1hr and 13 minutes.

And as for the overall training process?  I really enjoyed it.  MUCH more than I expected.  I noticed a ton of personal improvement along the way.  Sure, there were ups and downs (see chart below).  My energy level is much higher, and that is worth a lot in my book. A pesky knee injury/problem/weirdness that still won’t completely go away, for example.  But I do kind of get what people mean when they say things like “I’m looking forward to a nice long jog this afternoon.”  Previously, I just thought they were nuts.

I actually want to stick with it, but I’m not sure I will without a concrete goal.  Guess I need to formulate a goal.

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

8 responses to “22. Run the BolderBoulder 10K”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Hey, M-H, congratulations! Sure wish I had you girls (you and Beej) closer to egg me on out of my “around-the-lake” and “up-to-Ridge-Rd.-and back” ruts! Keep up the great work!

  2. A Light at the End of the Fiber says :

    Quadruple likeage. Though you did forget to mention Mr. Red White and Bloomers around mile 4.5.

    • maryhalljohnson says :

      a ha ha… Jennifer is referring to the male pole dancer who was part of the wide variety of entertainment along the route. Really special.

  3. bethanybordeaux says :

    Mar- I feel what is most likely an inappropriate amount of excitement for you today! 🙂 I’m so excited for you that you finished and enjoyed the race. I hear it’s awesome and wish that I could have come up and run it with you. Maybe next year. And yes…..set another goal stat. Even if it just means going ahead and paying to run a 5K in a month or something. I’ve stayed active over the month since my 1/2, but not near like I was when I was on the training schedule. Or just pick another Hal Higdon schedule and train. Even if you don’t run an event at the end of it..

    • maryhalljohnson says :

      B – Only you and I fully grasp what huge accomplishment this is for us, the world’s two least athletic people. We HAVE to do a race together soon. Do you have another goal to share? I’m thinkin’ so, thanks to Facebook which clued me in to all your secret plans.

      • bethanybordeaux says :

        Hahah. Yes. I’m sure all our readers are failing to understand just how big a deal this is! Just keep your training going, but transfer over to my training plan and just do the running portion (ignore all the bikes and swims)…and then come run the Chicago 1/2 with me in July! Pleasy please?

  4. bethanybordeaux says :

    ok….i was just reading back over this post and your comment “formulate a goal” made me think of the lyric in the Eminem song that says “Formulate a plot or end up in jail or shot, this is my only option, failure’s not….” and it made me laugh. Ps. the **EDITED** version of that song, “Lose Yourself (the soundtrack version)” from his movie 8 Mile, which I do NOT recommend, is an excellent addition to anyone’s running playlist, if you want a good pump-me-up-I-can-do-this rap song.

