A Tale of Two Exercise Classes

Bethany reminded me that I was supposed to be coming up with a new exercise goal.  And in fact I already have one!  July 14!

Our upcoming Jamaican vacation, duh!  First, because of the swimsuit requirement.  And second, its a full week of all-you-can-eat, and so I might as well be active enough to fully take advantage.  Why yes I will have another mango smoothie, please.

So, I’ve been giving jogging a little rest and trying to expand my exercise horizons.  One night I rode my bike to the quickstop to buy junkfood.  I’m not sure that counts.  Also, I have tried two new exercise classes.

First, I went to one called “cardio/sculpt“.  It was labelled “intermediate”.  Maybe that should’ve been a warning sign.  This was the instructor:

Upon arrival, I think I got some dirty looks from other class participants.  The teacher was kind of like a boot camp instructor, backed up by the song “Ain’t No Holla Back Girl”.  We stepped up and down in every possible configuration. 32 counts of “left  knee  left kick   right side  hop forward ” omgee I was literally lost from count 2 and never really doing what she told us to.  And I got not one but two personal visits from the teacher to tell me what I was doing wrong.  I should tell you, I’m a little uncoordinated.  That’s okay though.  It was actually a really good workout. And I didn’t fall on my face, although I almost did on several occasions.

Class #2:aquamotion.  The instructor was much less intimidating, more like:

I have never been to a water exercise class and had no idea what to expect.  Everyone was SO nice.  We introduced ourselves.  We discussed joint injuries while punching under the water as fast a possible.  Then we did kickboxing.  It was kinda fun but I’m not sure I got a very good workout.  The teacher seemed to be the only one actually breaking a sweat.  Thus, I’m sure I was doing it all wrong. Its sort of hard to see what to do when everyone’s under water though.

So which is better?  I think I’d prefer a little public humiliation coupled with a lot of sweat.  Because Mary-Hall 2.0 is hardcore ya’ll.  Let’s do this.  Now, I’m off to eat more chocolate.

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “A Tale of Two Exercise Classes”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    okay – 1. you are more coordinated than you think if you play piano and banjo 2. if Ms. drill sergeant is too intimidating, come to MY exercise classes – you”ll be the youngest one there! 🙂 3. find a small Zumba class (the church fellowship hall version) it”s FUN and even the awful music can grow on you (“only the SEXY people can do this dance!”). or you can always get a Richard Simmons video at a garage sale for a quarter and “sweat with the oldies” in the privacy of your home. Enjoy your vacation!!!

  2. A Light at the End of the Fiber says :

    You should come with me sometime! I do a ab/core/strength class on Tuesday nights pretty regularly. When I can, I go an hour before to a cardio step class, which is also offered on Saturday mornings (I hit that one occasionally). The teacher is so awesome! She’s nice and lets you go at your own pace, but she doesn’t pull any punches, either. I’ve had my eye on trying a water aerobics class at the Erie rec center, too, but I haven’t done it yet. It’s always a little intimidating to try something new, but I think it would be good to diversify my workout portfolio.
    And there’s always bootcamp at Tran’s. 😉

  3. bethanybordeaux says :

    This reminds me….I have a yoga class I’m supposed to take…..

