Blueberry Scones

Last Saturday, I volunteered to make 3 dozen scones for a women’s ministry tea at church..  I had never made blueberry scones before, but for some reason, I failed to see that as an important detail and volunteered anyway.  After some internet searching for blueberry scone recipes, I found this one, and except for human error on my part (like forgetting to add the butter to an entire batch), they were A-MAZING.  I can’t be certain its the actual Starbucks recipe since I just stumbled across it on some random website, but I will say they were super yummy and well worth trying.  As always, I’ve listed the recipe here including the small tweaks that I made….and I have some lovely photos of different phases of the baking process.  And to whet your appetite, here’s a spoiler photo of the finished product!

Yummy blueberry scones on a pretty platter…and headed to the tea!

“Starbucks” Blueberry Scones

Scone Ingredients:

*2 Cups all-purpose flour

*2 tsp baking powder
*1 egg
*1 Tbsp vanilla extract
*1/2 tsp sea salt
*6 Tbsp sugar
*1/2 cup ice cold butter
*1/2 cup ice cold whipping cream
*1 pint of fresh blueberries

Topping Ingredients:
*1 egg – beaten
*1 Tbsp whipping cream
*Sugar in the Raw (no set amount….for sprinkling)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper (or a silpat if you prefer)

2. Cut butter into cubes and refrigerate until ready to use.

3. Sift the flour, salt, baking powder and sugar into a large bowl.

4. Cut the butter into the flour mixture with pastry blender until it is crumbly.

5. In a smaller bowl whisk the egg, cream and vanilla – add to the dry mixture mixing with a fork, and stir until just combined – do not over mix!

6. Stir in fresh blueberries.

7. Pour the dough mix onto a lightly floured board and pat into a 7 inch 1 to 1 1/2 inch high disk. (I use the sifter to lightly flour the board!)

8. Cut into in half then quarters and then in eights as evenly as possible.  (I then cut them in half again to make 16 smaller scones which were a perfect serving size for breakfast or a snack….at the tea we served them as finger foods, so we actually cut them in half again to make 32 mini-scones out of each batch!)

9. Place the scones on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

10. Mix 1 egg with the 1 Tbsp of cream and brush the tops with the cream-egg mixture then sprinkle generously with the sugar crystals.

11. Bake at 375 degrees for 17 minutes and no longer! This will ensure a moister scone than normally expected.

Here are a few photos of the baking process!  I hope you enjoy making these.  They sure were yummy. And can you believe…..I’ve made seven new recipes now?  Only one more to go and I can check off

6. Cook 8 new recipes (one a month)

kneading the dough….about to work in the blueberries!!!

brushing on the egg topping….ready to sprinkle with sugar!

All cut up and on the cookie sheet! Ready to be popped in the oven!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

2 responses to “Blueberry Scones”

  1. pbrowder says :

    Yummy! Can’t wait to try this recipe with our fresh picked blueberries.

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      I wish I had had our Fresh picked blueberries before I made these! Let me know if you come up with a “heart healthy” version of this recipe and I’ll post that as a follow-up!

