Blueberries, Blueberries: a recipe and book recommendation all in one post

Mary-Hall is having a crazy week which I know she’ll tell you all about later, so I’m taking advantage of her busy-ness to post a few things I’ve had in the works.  Hope you don’t mind the extra dose of Bethany-Blogging.

Keith and I picking blueberries with his step-dad Rick (his mom was behind the camera!)

When we were in South Carolina last week we picked 21 pounds of blueberries.  That’s right.  21 POUNDS.  What are you going to do with all those berries you say?  Well, um…..eat them of course.  Keith and I brought all 21 pounds home in a cooler and began the process of drying them and freezing them so they would keep.  If you open our freezer, you’ll see 6, 1-gallon bags of blueberries all tasty and ready to be eaten.  I’ve been throwing a handful in the juicer with some peaches and apples to make a yummy glass of juice and Hubs has put a handful or two in the blender with a vanilla protein powder to make a vanilla-blueberry work-out shake.  However, we still have about 19 pounds left to go, and since we have out-of-town-company this week, I decided last night that we needed a little dessert.  I turned to my tried-and-true recipe resource, The Pioneer Woman, and found this amazing blackberry cobbler recipe, and then substituted blueberries for the blackberries.  It’s not a traditional cobbler….sort of more like a cake consistency, but it’s delish nonetheless and the four of us scarfed down 3/4 of the pan in one sitting.  I’m not going to count it as a “new recipe” even though I’d never made it before, since I just did blueberry scones a few weeks ago.  I figure one new blueberry-baked-good recipe is enough for my official check-off-list.  But this desert was so tasty that I couldn’t resist passing it along anyway.  Even if it didn’t help my 30×30 list progress.  Hope you enjoy it!

p.s.  I’ve written out the recipe below as I made it…but Pioneer Woman has a great pictorial step-by-step that might be easier for you to follow.  You can click the link in the above paragraph and it should take you straight there.

Ingredients:

*1/2 cup (one stick) of butter

*1 cup of sugar

*1 cup of all-purpose flour

*1 cup of milk

*2 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries (or blackberries, or raspberries, or a mixture of all!)

*an additional 1/4 cup sugar for sprinkling on top

*ground cinnamon and nutmeg to sprinkle on top (optional)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Melt the butter in the microwave.

3) While the butter is melting, measure out the sugar, flour and milk and whisk them all together in a mixing bowl.

4) Mix in the melted butter to your sugar/flour/milk mixture.

5) Grease a small casserole dish or glass pie plate. I used crisco even though the recipe says butter.

6) Pour batter into greased dish.

7) pour berries into the batter and poke them down a little bit until they are partly submerged.

8) sprinkle 1/4 cup of sugar over the top.  also sprinkle the cinnamon and nutmeg if you like.  I added just a dash of both even though the recipe didn’t call for it, and it was such a good addition!

9) bake at 350 for an hour.  It may not look done on the top, but it will be inside.  So yummy.  Serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream straight out of the oven.

Serves about 6.  Prep time, 10 minutes.  Cook time, 1 hour.

Ready to go in the oven! Look at all those berries!

Hot and Fresh out of the oven! Yummy Yummy!

And while we’re talking blueberries….just one more thing I need to mention.  If you have bitty ones at home (like age 5 and under) might I suggest you add “Blueberries for Sal” to your summer reading list?  It was one of my favorite books as a kid and remains a favorite children’s book to this day.  Here’s a cover photo so you can look for it on your next library run.  Better yet, make this easy cobbler with your kids, and then settle down to read the book while it bakes. (All the Robert McCloskey books are worth the read….Make Way for Ducklings and One Morning In Maine are also personal favorites!)

Can’t go wrong with a Caldecott Award winner.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Frozen Berry Blues: A Tutorial | Two Girls Blog - 07/29/2013
