Two X’s for the Price of One Rubarb Pie

Last week I posted the results to my “tasting poll” and the winners were rhubarb pie and kale.  The tribe had spoken.  Keith and I have been on the road a good bit lately and we’re about to be gone a good bit more so I knew that my days of having time at home to try out new recipes were numbered.  So yesterday, when I realized I had an entire Saturday afternoon at home, I headed to the grocery store and purchased some rhubarb.  And I made a pie.  And I ate it.  And I loved it.

Lots of times when I’m looking for a new recipe I go to the internet to places like Epicurious.com or ThePioneerWoman.com or some other related site because it’s quick and easy and there are always large numbers of whatever you’re looking for with lots of variations and opinions and ratings and reviews.  But I also love a good, old-fashioned cookbook.  When we remodeled I actually had a cookbook shelf built into our kitchen cabinets.  I love turning the pages and even seeing the smudges of ingredients from cooking-days-past on the edges of the paper.  So when I decided to make a rhubarb pie, I pulled out a real, honest-to-goodness cookbook and thumbed through to find the recipe….and sure enough, they had one.  If you’re looking for a great wedding/engagement present for someone, or if you just want a good staple cookbook for yourself, I’d recommend the one below.  Not only are the recipes great, but it has diagrams on how to set a table, plan a party menu, essential kitchen tools, and lots of other helpful info for someone just learning their way around the kitchen….or for a seasoned cook who needs a quick reference.

My favorite cookbook, given to me by my friend Lisa, who waxes my eyebrows, as an engagement present.  Yes, I said who waxes my eyebrows.  She’s the best.

However, I can’t seem to make anything exactly as the recipe states and this was no exception.  I’d found a pie crust recipe in the fall of 2011 that I’ve made a few times now and love, so I decided to use that pie crust recipe along with the Rhubarb Pie recipe from the Betty Crocker cookbook….and then added in an ingredient.  Since I’m not only counting this as an X towards my “new foods tasted goal” but also towards my “new recipes cooked” goal, I’ve given you the recipe below…..along with a few photos.  After doing some research, I kept hearing that rhubarb pie is super tart and that most people recommended strawberry-rhubarb pie as the strawberries are a sweet compliment to the tangy rhubarb.  So I went for it.  And I wasn’t sorry.

Pie Crust

*2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

*1/2 teaspoon finely ground sea salt

*1/4 teaspoon baking powder

*1/2 pound (2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into cubes)

*1/3 cup ICE COLD water

*more butter or Crisco for greasing the pie pan

*1 egg & 2 tables spoons water (for egg wash)

* Natural Sugar or regular white sugar to sprinkle on top to taste

1.Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Put the flour and baking powder in the bowl of a food processor and pulse to combine.  Add the cold butter cubes and pulse a few times until the mixture begins to become mealy and the butter forms plainly visible peas-size nuggets.

2. Dissolve the salt in the water.  With the motor running, pour in the water and let mix, just until the dough pulls together. (do not overmix.  if the dough is dry and not holding together, add a little bit more water.)

3. Form the dough into two evenly sized balls, flatten and wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to use.

4. Make pie filling………(see recipe below)……..then return to pie crust step 5.

5. Use butter or Crisco to grease the pie pan.

6. Lightly flour a pastry board and rolling-pin.  Take one of the dough balls and roll it out to about a 1/8 inch thickness.  this process can be sticky and tricky.  I recommend experimenting and seeing what combination of rolling-pin and flour and rolling surface work best for you.  Once the dough is rolled out into a circle big enough for the pie pan, transfer the crust to the greased pie pan.  Pierce the dough in several places with the tines of a fork.

7. Pour in pie filling.

8. Take the other dough ball and either follow the same process as before rolling it into a large circle and place on top of the pie (making sure to cut vents/holes in the top) OR using a cookie cutter, cut enough shapes to cover the top of the pie leaving small spaces in between. (I like the cookie cutter method the best, personally.)

9. Mix the egg and water together to make an egg wash.  Brush the egg wash over the top of the pie and along the edges….anywhere where there is crust.  Sprinkle with natural or white sugar as desired.  Place pie pan on a cookie sheet (to catch any juices that might overflow!!!!!) Cook in the oven for 55 minutes (if you are using this pie crust with another filling, make sure to check and see how long that filling should be cooked.).  Remove from the oven and let cool.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Filling

*2 cups sugar

*2/3 cup all-purpose flour

*1 teaspoon grated orange peel

*1 teaspoon vanilla extract

*3 cups fresh rhubarb chopped into pieces about 1/2 inch square

*3 cups fresh strawberries cut into similar size pieces

1. In a large bowl, mix sugar, flour, orange peel and vanilla extract.  Stir in rhubarb and strawberries.

2. Pour filling mixture into pie pan and continue with pie crust instructions.

***NOTE:  Don’t be confused when the pie filling seems to be really dry.  I wasn’t sure why in the world there should be that much flour in a pie filling until I baked the pie.  The rhubarb and strawberries make so much juice that the flour absorbs some of it.  Still, the pie is very juicy, not thick like a jam like some pie fillings.  If you wish to make a rhubarb only pie, just substitute the 3 cups of chopped strawberries for 3 additional cups of rhubarb and add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar.***

Rhubarb chopping in process….already in the bowl are sugar, flour and grated orange peel.

chopping up strawberries to add to the filling mixture

Filling in the bottom pie crust, and cutting out stars for the top crust!

Finished star top crust, brushed with egg wash, sprinkled with sugar and ready to pop in the oven!

A finished pie all ready for eating! Soooooo yummy!

 

So there it is folks, two more X’s and a yummy, yummy pie.  Perfect for summer cookouts with friends, or for binge-eating all on your own.  🙂  Enjoy!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Two X’s for the Price of One Rubarb Pie”

  1. pbrowder says :

    Yum Yum! I will have to try this recipe as I have never had rhubarb pie either. I love the star crust! You are getting to be quite the cook!!!

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      I think you would like it. The strawberries make it so sweet and the rhubarb makes it tangy. The pie crust isn’t exactly heart healthy, but I know you and Rick will figure out a way to make it heart healthy. 🙂 And I promise, the cookie cutter crust is totally a cheat….its so much easier than trying to roll out a one-piece crust and still have it look pretty. just cut out the crust pieces like you would cookies and then lay them on just slightly overlapping. It looks super fancy but its quick and easy and it makes natural vents in the top so you don’t have to make cut-outs. so easy. you’ll have to come visit and i’ll make blueberry scones, breakfast muffins, fish tacos and a pie. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. One Month To Go….. « Two Girls Turning Thirty - 07/14/2012
