MH’s One MONTH Warning

Man oh man.  It is July 9th.  That means I have but 1 month remaining.  31 days.  Time to do a somewhat painful status update.  Why painful?  Let’s let the graph speak for itself.

So although there was a bit of a downward turn in the slope of the green “DONE” section since the last post, I was hoping for a more drastic course correction.  (Now resisting the urge to make a second plot of the derivatives.)  Obviously not hoping hard enough.  Obviously it takes more than hope.  That, and getting sideswiped by big #28 (sell house and move) which although time-consuming, was still just one list item.  This situation is shaping up for a wild last month of my 20s, and well I guess that’s the intent of the ole 30×30 list anyway, is it not?

To clarify just how dire my situation is for myself, here’s all my list items categorized according to “status”.

DONE
1. Make cinnamon rolls
2. Cook for an entire week from scratch, no hamburger helper, no kraft mac-n-cheese.
6. Take ballroom dancing lessons
10. Wear eyeliner
11. Learn a new hairstyle
15. Weekend trip to Moab
21. Finish re-upholstering couch
22. Run the BolderBoulder 10K
23. Make a life list
27. Go to the dentist!
28. Sell our house and move to Mississippi
30! Start a new blog!

TOTALLY DOABLE
5. Sew an apron / mixer cover
7. Figure out how to take pictures that are in focus
8. Read one book per month  X X X X
9. Get a pedicure
12. Get ears pierced?!? (still kinda on the fence) not on the fence anymore!
14. Go to a Caribbean island
17. Take Ransom camping.
18. Finish reading the entire Bible
29. Take a Sabbath rest

Obviously there’s going to be a lot of blog posting in the next four weeks if I knock all this stuff out.  IF, why am I saying IF?  The word is WHEN, lady.

WARNING
4. Crochet this one pattern that I’ve never been able to get right
13. Figure out what kind of wine I like
16. Take the train somewhere
24. List something on etsy
26. Learn to play OCMS’s “Wagon Wheel” on the banjo.

These items are on the warning list.  I know I can at least half-heartedly do some of these.  But they are time-consuming and time is not something I have in abundance. duh.

RED ALERT
3. Grow vegetable garden
19. Hang up family photos
20. Clean out closet and dresser
25. Write a children’s book

I’m not exactly sure what to do with these.  The vegetable garden, family photos, and the organization project got derailed by the move.  Although, you should see the closets in the house we’re living in now.  Red alert is an appropriate status for them.  And the children’s book – I know what I want to do for that, but its going to take some serious time and effort to do it right.  Who’s bright idea was it to put that on a 30×30 list? Oh mine blah blah blah.

What’s next for the ol’ blog?
Ah yes, the question of the hour.  Bethany and I love blogging and we aren’t stopping.  Its such a fun way to keep motivated and also a great (rather one-sided) way to keep up with friends and family. Maybe we start our 40×40 lists? or 31×31? Maybe we revert to just plain lists without critical numbers associated with them?

Oooh, let’s change topics completely and start writing reality tv recaps instead.  Girl did you see who that Bachelorette invited to her fantasy mansion this week?  I’m kidding…

SPOILER ALERT: Neither of us are likely to *completely* finish our 30x30s.  NO.  I did NOT just say that. We will meet our deadlines. But seriously, Bethany’s supposed to memorize a BOOK of the Bible. Do we just keep going until the lists are finished? Better late than never?

Wait… am I going to be 30 next month?!?

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “MH’s One MONTH Warning”

  1. bethanybordeaux says :

    Your update post both terrifies and motivates me. We’ve got this. Maybe. Possibly. I mean, we’ve got this.

  2. Momma Daniel says :

    You girls rock! And MH, please, for those of us who are mathematically challenged, don’t use language like “make a second plot of the derivatives.” I’m already in sufficient awe of you both ! 🙂 Just kidding – I’ve enjoyed reading about your and Bethany’s accomplishments. It’s nice to know that SOME PEOPLE are making worthwhile use of their time! Do remember one of my favorite expressions, which is “sometimes life gets in the way.” That’s a perfectly legitimate way of cutting yourself some slack and realizing that – here comes an economics maxim – “there are always opportunity costs.” So, if the garden doesn’t get planted and harvested this year, maybe you can support a nice little farmers’ market instead. Hang in there and have fun.

