“Cooking With Gas”

Whenever I was making quick progress on something, my mom would always comment, “now we’re cooking with gas!”  I guess that means we’re getting it done quickly and doing a good job while we’re at it.  And I thought that all applied in the case of list item No. 6.  Besides.  I did, in fact, cook it all with gas…….

Since my post on Rhubarb pie was already pretty lengthy with all the photos and the recipe itself, I didn’t feel like I got a change to properly celebrate the fact that it was my 8th new recipe and thus a list-item check-off!  I’ve loved getting to cook all these new foods the past 7 months and I thought that maybe you too would enjoy a little recipe remembrance of the 8 new recipes that got us here.  Warning: Don’t click through if you’re hungry….

1 .P90X Breakfast Muffins

Comically, this post has gotten our blog more traffic than any other post we’ve made.  Apparently these muffins were not only delicious, but blog-traffic-attracting as well.  And so healthy.  A great breakfast option for folks training for 1/2 marathons. 🙂

2. Chicken in Lemon Sauce

straight from the oven! so yummy looking!

Thanks to my friend Russell who was gracious enough to make this dish for me and his fiance one night, I found another great easy-dinner recipe that Keith and I both loved.  Quick to make, and inexpensive…a great mid-week dinner option.

3. Apple Pork Chops and Cheesy Bacon Grits

Yummy, yummy porkchoppy goodness on a plate.

While I totally swiped the photo above from the recipe website, mine looked about the same and was dee-lish!  And the grits recipe is wonderful as well to use with other foods and meals.  I cooked just the grits for brunch when I watched Gone With The Wind.

4. Chili Rubbed Salmon with Zuchinni and Sautéed Corn

My plate of salmon! Yummy!

Always on the watch for a healthy recipe, this salmon one was a find.  It’s easy, it’s healthy and even colorful looking on the plate.  One of my favorites of the new recipe challenge.

5. Sweet Potato Fries

Mmmmm, mmmmmm good! Fresh out of the oven and ready to eat!

So even though this recipe didn’t get the award for “most difficult new item” it did get the “most likely to be made again soon” award.  So quick and easy and so yummy.  The perfect side dish for any meal.  Especially if you have little ones.

6. Fish Tacos

Amazing Fish Tacos! So easy and so yummy!

We have made this recipe several times now and it never disappoints.  It would be a great party dish as its quick and easy and looks and tastes impressive.  I still haven’t branched out and tried other types of fish, but that’s because the grouper just tastes so amazing.    Hmmm….maybe I’ll make these again tonight…..

7. Blueberry Scones

Yummy blueberry scones on a pretty platter…and headed to the tea!

I was so pleased with how these turned out…and since I still have about 19 pounds of blueberries left in my freezer, it’s highly likely that I’ll give them another go sometime soon.  I’d recommend these for breakfast, treats for the office co-workers, or to serve at a wedding or baby shower.  I promise they will be the first empty serving dish!

8. Rhubarb Strawberry Pie

A finished pie all ready for eating! Soooooo yummy!

So not only was this a new recipe, it was a new food as I’ve never tasted Rhubarb Pie before.  I think the addition of the strawberries was a wise choice, the cookie-cutter shapes for the top crust were easy but look fancy….Since I still have it in my fridge, I might have a slice right now.   And if you don’t like strawberries and rhubarb, I’d still suggest you check out the pie crust recipe to use with your favorite filling (might I suggest apples?) because it’s delicious!

Hope you enjoyed your walk down recipe memory lane, and the 8 dishes that brought me to crossing off a list item!

6. Cook 8 new recipes (one a month)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.
