Jamaican Rum Coconut Ice Cream

Okay, Foto Friday to come later.  First I wanted to post another ice cream recipe.  I made good on my promise to try something coconut-y in honor of our recent trip to Jamaica.  The result turned out really awesome.  As I might’ve mentioned before, I LOVE making my own ice cream.

So, my Jamaican food experience was all about coconut, banana, plantains, mangos, tropical tropical tropical.  And, we brought back a huge bottle of rum cream, which is pretty awesome by itself (and even better in ice cream).  I considered trying a banana coconut rum ice cream, maybe later… For this one I decided to stick with coconut alone.  I consulted my old friends Ben & Jerry for their coconut recipe, and they suggested using something called Coco Lopez.

You can find this in the cocktail section, next to the margarita mixes, etc, in Kroger, Wal-mart, etc.  Guess what its used for?  Making pina coladas!  That’s when I knew I was on the right track…  If you like coconut, then this is like crack in a can.  You know, along the lines of sweetened condensed milk… Something so good you think about licking the inside of the can.  So that’s ingredient #1.

#2 is toasted coconut flakes.  I used sweetened flakes, because I always prefer more sugar to less sugar.  I suspect you could go with the unsweetened variety if you are dieting.  ha ha.

To toast the coconut, make a thin-ish layer on a cookie sheet and bake at 300 deg for 10 minutes or so.  Stir frequently, i.e. check and stir every 3 minutes or so.  At first nothing seems to be happening and then all of a sudden you have nice toasted coconut.

Ingredient #3 is 1/4 cup of rum cream.  If you don’t have any rum cream and don’t want to buy any, I *think* you could leave it out.  The result would be a quite bit different but also possibly great.  I have now made two batches of this ice cream.  For round 2, my plan was to try it sans rum cream.  However, once I got right down to the mixing of ingredients, the batch just didn’t have that spark of awesomeness without it.  And my husband peer pressured me.  And before you know it, I’d thrown the rum cream into batch #2 as well.  So I can’t say how plain coconut would’ve tasted.  Maybe in a few weeks I’ll give it another shot, after the bottle of rum cream has run dry, and then I’ll have no choice.

I’m also curious how regular rum would turn out in the recipe.  For those who are unsure about alcoholic ice cream, let me assure you that you CAN NOT taste it in this recipe.  Rum cream is relatively low alcohol content anyway.  This ice cream just tastes GOOD.  I don’t think anyone would be able to even remotely guess the rum was in there.  Your only clue would be that the ice cream never gets super hard in the freezer.  Instead, the little bit of alcohol keeps it a lovely easy-to-scoop texture.  I feed this to my toddler, no worries.

So to recap, here’s the full recipe.  Did I mention this turns out really really well?  Go make some!!

Ingredients

2 cups heavy cream or whipping cream (or heavy whipping cream)

1 cup milk

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

11 oz Coco Lopez (save the other 4 oz from the can to make yourself a pina colada)

1 cup sweetened coconut flakes

1/4 cup rum cream

Instructions

1.  First toast the coconut.  Make a thin layer (about 1/4″ thick, not too thin) and bake at 300 for 10 minutes or until golden brown.  Stir every 3 minutes to toast evenly.  Discard the edge pieces if they look burnt.

2.  Wait for the coconut to cool to room temp then refrigerate until you’re ready to make the ice cream.

3.  Whisk eggs in a medium bowl until super light and fluffy, as in, until 2 minutes pass and your forearms hurt.

4.  Add the sugar to the eggs a little at a time and continue whisking for another minute or so.

5.  Add the cream, milk, Coco Lopez, and rum cream. Stir it together.

6.  Freeze the batch according to the directions on your ice cream maker.  Add the toasted coconut just before the end.  (My machine takes about 25 minutes, and I add in the mix-ins at around 20 minutes.)

7.  Stick in the freezer to finish the freezing process, for a couple hours or so.

8.  Enjoy!

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

2 responses to “Jamaican Rum Coconut Ice Cream”

  1. Guy On A Buffalo says :

    I can attest that this is some of the best home-made ice cream I’ve ever had. My only suggestion is to serve more than two scoops at a time…

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Paleo and Modern Day Pumpkin Ice Cream | Two Girls Blog - 11/13/2013
