Holy Guacamole: It’s My Birthday!!!

So I made my peace a few weeks ago with the fact that I probably would not finish my 30×30 list by my birthday.  But, imagine my delight when I realized there was one more thing I could check off last-minute! (I feel like I’ve had excellent luck with unexpectedly crossing off list items on vacation)

It was Monday.  Keith and I were relaxing on our lounge chairs by the pool this afternoon when the “pool concierge” came by with a cart of books and games and a bottle of Evian “refreshing mist” (which lived up to its name, by the way.)  As Keith perused the books available to borrow, my attention went to  a sign perched on the corner of the cart that announced the special events for the week….with a “Guacamole Class” at one of the resort’s restaurant.  Since 20. Take an official cooking class remained un-crossed-off, and since I love guacamole, I was elated.

George, the concierge, taught an excellent class.  Even more than the recipe itself (which he’s supposed to be emailing me….and which I’ll pass along to you as soon as I get it) which made the most delicious guacamole I’ve ever had, I loved some of the basic knife skills that he took time to explain.  How to quickly and neatly dice a Roma tomato, how to cut cilantro without it turning black (who knew there was a trick to that!), and how to dice a green chile without making it too hot.  I can’t wait to go home and put them all into practice.

George and Arianna, his assistant, explain the best way to cut an avocado. i for sure needed help in this department. (ask my sweet husband who complains about the butchered avocado pieces he finds in the fridge.

I also read a book yesterday whilst lounging by the pool.  I’ll give you the book review in a separate post however because I have an announcement attached to the book.  (and yes…I’m going to leave you hanging!)

I know that I already checked off 1. Visit a new country and 5. Visit a new state or major city, but I love that Cabo San Lucas (where Keith and I are vacationing this week to celebrate my turning the big Three-Oh) is not only a new city for both of us (that rarely happens!) but it’s also a part of Mexico neither of us have ever been.  We’ve decided we really love the Baja peninsula.  We’re staying at the Hilton Los Cabos Beach and Golf Resort and it’s so beautiful that we’re spending most of our time lounging by their pool and getting up only to stroll down to the beach.  We have also driven into town the past two days to visit the “Destiny Spa Pacific.”  It’s a tiny little place, but I had the best massage I’ve ever had for $20, and then yesterday a great mani/pedi for $27.  “Rosy,” the spa therapist, is the sweetest lady and I was wishing I’d actually checked off 24. Learn to speak Spanish conversationally before I came to Cabo so we could have chatted while she scrubbed my feet and trimmed my out of control cuticles.  She seemed disappointed when I regretfully told her “No habla Espanol.”

I’ll leave you all with a few photos of our resort….and then I’m headed back out to the pool to do some more relaxing and work on my tan.  And in a day or two, I’ll give you a recap of the things I didn’t finish on my list.

And to everyone who has stopped by Facebook to send Birthday wishes, I’m so grateful.  I feel very loved!

The view of the ocean from our 4th floor balcony room! so beautiful!

The view from the balcony at the end of the hallway, just outside our front door. you can see the other building of the hotel, the ocean and part of the infinity pool!

This yummy chocolate mountain and almond cake was waiting for me when we checked in…..

….and this is how they decorated our room for my birthday this morning while we were at breakfast! love the baloons, starburst and the towel-elephant clad in a birthday hat.  They even spelled out “happy birthday” in beach pebbles on the center of the bed.

Tags: , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

8 responses to “Holy Guacamole: It’s My Birthday!!!”

  1. pbrowder says :

    WOW! It looks like you are having an wonderful birthday week!!! Can’t wait to get your new guacamole recipe-yum-yum. What a beautiful resort and you certainly seem to be obdient to getting plenty of R&R. I am so happy for you!!!!!

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      We are having SUCH a wonderful week here! The resort is so beautiful….you and Rick will have to plan a trip here. It’s the best place to just relax and then relax some more. 🙂

  2. Momma Daniel says :

    All I can say is that you two know how to celebrate birthdays!!! Have a safe and happy birthday and vacation! Love you!

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      haha. we do our best. we were so spoiled this year to get to travel for both of our birthdays! i know that won’t always happen, so we’re soaking it all up. love you too!

  3. Valerie Chandler says :

    Well it certainly looks like you are livin’ large! So glad the two of you are having such a great trip. Can’t wait to see more pics and to eat some of that guacamole!! Big hug!!

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      thanks Val! I’ll totally make you some guacamole next time i see you and yes, probably force you to look at more beach photos. haha. see you soon!

