Getting holes in my head

Yesterday I did something that thousands of babies and tweenagers do every day:

12. Get ears pierced?!? (still kinda on the fence) not on the fence anymore!

When I was a tween, I was too busy playing with Legos and frankly couldn’t see the usefulness of adding two more holes to one’s head.  Somewhere in high school or college, I realized that earrings weren’t such a bad idea.   And then it only took me 10 more years of clip-ons to make up my mind and do something about it.

So Saturday, I marched myself down to the local tattoo parlor.  I was probably overreacting but I just couldn’t bring myself to go over to Claire’s and have it done by a 16-year-old… in the mall.  I just knew I’d be stuck with unevenness or other disastrous result.


The place was deserted at 1:30pm in the afternoon.   This is lucky because I didn’t have time to wait around and talk myself out of it.   I was inwardly freaking out more than is rational but I held it together.  I almost bolted back out the door when the nice man told me that all earring options included little faux diamonds. Hmm.. Clearly I’ve been watching a lot of Toddlers&Tiaras because this was my mental image:

And then, my next thought was you know what? you work from home. Deal with the little diamonds. Okay. So, then I selected 14K gold because I have somewhat temperamental skin.  And then all of a sudden we were done.

It was a total non-event.  The actual piercing hurt significantly less than say… skinning your knee in the parking lot, or getting stung on the face by a yellow jacket. (Yes I have done both this summer.)  And the discomfort following the piercing hurt significantly less than say… wearing clip-on earrings.  Those buggers HURT.

When I looked in the mirror, I was pleasantly surprised to see… NO little diamonds at  all.  Don’t know how I misunderstood.  Probably couldn’t hear the man correctly over my internal freak out.   Anyway I’m pretty happy about the whole situation.  Yes they are even.  And yes I have completely attached earlobes.  Had the honor of displaying them in every biology/genetics class I ever took.

Tags: ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

One response to “Getting holes in my head”

  1. A Light at the End of the Fiber says :

    Very nice! Looks great…maybe you’ll work your way up to faux diamonds. Or real ones. 😉
    I am so proud of you for going to the tattoo parlor. I would have chastised you severely for letting a 16-year-old at Claire’s do it with that awful gun. I’m sorry I didn’t take you before you moved or we could have gone to my “usual piercing place” and I could have been moral support to ease the freak-out. It certainly is disconcerting your first time. After that it gets addictive. 😉

