Why I Will Never Make Seal Team Six

I feel like half my misadventures begin with “so I found a Groupon……” and this one is no different.  As you know,  I’ve been working out like crazy these past 9 months.  My last major athletic accomplishment was the Chicago 1/2 marathon, then I took three personal training sessions…..and then pretty much quit working out for almost a month now.  And I’ve felt it.  I’ve missed the energy I have after a workout, the satisfaction of pushing myself to the limit, and the “good sore” muscles after a workout.  So when Keith said that he’d bought a Groupon to a Boot Camp class at Cross Fit Music City, I decided I would buy a few classes myself and go with him.

We both loved the class tonight.  It challenged the heck out of both of us (Keith, who is super consistent with his chest, arm and back exercises, is moaning about sore legs while I’m complaining that I can’t lift my arms above my head….and thankful for all the running I’ve been doing so my legs aren’t rubber) but we stuck with it and made it through.  And we can’t wait to go back to class and bust our tails again and again until we’re both back in shape.  (Update: I’m 8 pounds into my 10 pound weight loss goal!  I can DO this!)  Maxwell, our instructor was EXCELLENT!  He was firm and encouraging but not in-your-face-obnoxious like so many super-fit-fitness-instructors can be.  When I was having trouble with my “air squats,” he came over, told me I could do this, and corrected my form.  I highly recommend taking classes from him.

Somewhere in the middle of running-800-meters-after-doing-8-minutes-of-burpees-and-squats I thought, “Holy Cow….I will never be a Navy Seal.”  Granted, it’s not unusual for random thoughts to float through my brain when I work out, (like when Selena Gomez got stuck in my head during my triathlon,) but my Seal thought wasn’t as left-field as you might think.  While I was on my birthday trip to Mexico, I read my 8th book of my book-a-month challenge. (Which I get to check off with this blog post, although I plan on reading 4 more books before December 31st).  If you know me well, then you know that I have a mild NCIS obsession and you won’t be surprised that I tore through this book in one rainy day, a few hours pool-side and a 3 hour flight home.

Howard Wasdin won’t win any literary awards for academic writing, but his stories are so compelling and edge-of-your-seat that you can easily overlook any less-than-perfect writing.  His style is actually pretty conversational and down-to-earth and I could picture sitting around someone’s backyard in those aluminum-and-basket-weave lawn chairs listening to “Uncle Howard” tell his war stories as he sipped his beer.  While the tales of battle were intense for sure, I was more riveted by his description of BUDS/SEAL training.  One of my dear friends joined the Marine Corps when I was a senior in high-school and I remember hearing snatches of what PT and training was like for him.  SEAL training is beyond anything I could imagine.  Wasdin talks about guys “ringing the bell” which means that they literally stopped what they were doing and ran over and rang a bell, signaling that they were dropping out of the training and giving up their opportunity to be a SEAL.  After tonight’s Crossfit Boot Camp class, I’m confident that if I were in SEAL training, I would not ring out.  I’d pass out somewhere on the way to the bell.

 

Seal Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy Seal Sniper” by Howard E. Wasdin

Tags: , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

6 responses to “Why I Will Never Make Seal Team Six”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    You never fail to make me laugh! For which I thank you! Please keep that book on hand to lend to me next time we see each other. I, too, watch NCIS pretty regularly (didn’t know YOU did – how did I miss that???). Congrats on closing in on your weight loss goal and even more importantly, in renewing your resolve to stay fit. After this summer of no-exercise-except-shoulder-rehab, I feel like a marshmallow and would appreciate your sending me a dose of that resolve.

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Granted, my last two pounds were kick-started by my “stomach bug” that I brought home from Mexico, but I’ve managed to keep that weight off, so I’ll take it. Only two more to go! It’s been a slow process, 8 pounds in 8 months….but I think the victory is that I’ve kept it off, and kept going down. So that counts for something big.

      Haha. yes. I TiVo all the NCIS episodes and watch them when Keith is out of town (he’s not a huge fan). I’ll never be Ziva David, but maybe BootCamp will help me at least LOOK as fit and toned as she is. 🙂

      and you’ll be back in shape in no-time. I’m positive.

  2. Maxwell Jones says :

    Bethany, you and Keith did AWESOME! All it takes is practice and commitment!

    Seal Team Six isn’t too far away.

    M

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Haha. Thanks, Maxwell! It’s an amazing workout for sure, and we really did appreciate your coaching/teaching style. You challenged us, but made us believe we could do it, all without being scary. 🙂 See you soon!

  3. pbrowder says :

    Great job with your weight loss and consistency in working out. I know it is fun when you and Keith can share that as a life goal.
    I wanted to recommend a book that I just finished that you might like, Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman. She also wrote Memory Keepers Daughter which was very good..

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Thanks! Yes…..it is fun to work out together especially since we have different strengths and can encourage one another.

      Thanks for the book recommendation! I’ll have to check it out!

