World’s Greatest Party Snack

Its Birthday Party season in our family.  First was Ransom’s big 2-year-old bash last weekend.  With only 3 kids total, the theme was sort of loosely “Down on the Farm”.  We had awesome farm-themed cake and cupcakes made by my sweet sister-in-law Ashley.

The rest of the party snacks were country-style too:  ham, mac-n-cheese, and sliced apples with caramel dip.  This dip is one of my go-to recipes because its SO easy.  I have made it bunches and bunches of times.

Midway through Ransom’s party, great-grandma Memaw asked if we were bringing that dip to HER party, 1 week later.  Her 90th birthday party to be exact.  And so uh yeah the answer is yes.  Whatever you want Memaw!

Memaw’s party was yesterday and I’m pretty sure she didn’t get to eat any of the dip.  She didn’t even get to eat her own birthday cake between greeting all her guests.  The party was a big success though.  She took a big slice of cake home with her, and we have plenty of leftover dip to take to next weekend’s party.  I will make sure she gets some.

So, because I have yet to take this dip to a party and NOT have someone ask me for the recipe, I figured I might as well share my secret with the world.  This is literally the easiest possible recipe, with only 3 cheap ingredients and no cooking. The sneaky part is, caramel isn’t even one of the ingredients.  Brown sugar is used instead, but people never guess that.  I like to serve it with Granny Smith The apples are merely the vehicle, you could probably substitute strips of cardboard just as well.  No I’m kidding, tart green apples are the perfect compliment and add a healthy dimension to an otherwise unhealthy dish.

Caramel Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 block of cream cheese
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Directions:

  • Mix well.
  • Serve with tart firm apple slices.  Granny Smith are perfect, but red varieties like Fuji are also good.  Red Delicious etc are too soft, not my fav.  Give your apple slices a quick bath in Sprite right as you cut them up to prevent them from turning brown

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

One response to “World’s Greatest Party Snack”

  1. bethanybordeaux says :

    First of all, how in the world is Ransom 2 already? Nuts. And the cake and cupcakes are adorable! I love it. I will totally try your non-caramel caramel dip soon. Since our house has apparently become event central, I’m sure I’ll have lots of chances to use it!

