Book Review – Wild

So, here’s proof that I read another book. Another free library e-book in fact. PS now I know the answer about how to check these e-books back in: you don’t. When the checkout period ends, the book just disappears. Poof! I wish more stuff would poof! away from me like that.

The book is “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed.

This book is the author’s memoir of her epic hike on the Pacific Crest Trail in the mid-90s. She walked hundreds of miles from southern California through Oregon, mostly alone, in her early 20s. She had gone through some really rough losses: her mother’s death from cancer, her immediate family imploding, a divorce.. She set out on the trail to heal from all that and re-center herself.

I once read a memoir of two guys hiking the Appalachian trail titled “A Walk in the Woods”. I have to say, there were a lot of parallels. “A Walk in the Woods” is all humor and misadventure. “Wild” is all emotion and internal dialogue and heart-wrenching struggle to overcome the odds. But both are about people walking a very long way, with very heavy packs, and crashing into their tents each night too tired to cook dinner. I believe Mrs Strayed found her walk to be more inspiring and life-changing. The Appalachian Trail guys actually gave up early.

Both books are great reads and both left me itching to go on a big adventure. Probably didn’t help that while reading this, my husband was packing for his annual 10-day hiking/hunting/camping trip so our living room was appropriately full of frame-packs, light-weight sleeping bags, dehydrated food packs, water filters, and on and on. However I’m pretty sure my idea of a big adventure does not include four straight months of walking. Cheryl’s toenails fell off, for heaven’s sakes.

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

One response to “Book Review – Wild”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Sounds like an interesting read. I used to want to drive from one end of the Pan American Highway to the other, but don’t know that I’d be up for that now. The hiking trip sounds great with a little change – after each day’s walk I’d be ready for a hot shower, a restaurant meal, and indoor bed. Camping out is too much like housework without the conveniences. I’ll go get my shoes!!!

