Thoughts on Thirty

Dear Thirties-

Since I’m officially in my third month of my being thirty, I thought I’d take some time tonight to reflect on how it’s going thus far.

Thirty has brought a sense of confidence that I had no idea I could posses.  Maybe it’s because I have accomplished things over the past ten months that I had no idea I could accomplish, or maybe because it’s given me a reason to pause and think about all I’m thankful for.  Whatever the reason, I’m certain I’ve begun a good chapter.

I turned thirty in Mexico with my amazing husband.  I started a new job six days later.  I sadly haven’t had time to blog much.  Or achieve many list item check offs.  But I feel like I’ve taken the lessons and discipline I learned through all our blog challenges and have let them bleed over into my “new” life.  I feel older!  Not like my back is giving out or my knees hurt (although both of those things sometimes feel true when I go to my boot camp class!) but like my SOUL is older.  Like I’ve grown emotionally and spiritually and intellectually and like I’m finally able to look life in the face and say, “I get you a little more now…and I’m going to roll with whatever you throw my way.”

I ate yogurt tonight with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while and we talked and laughed and teared up at one point.  We both said at that we couldn’t believe how much had happened over the years since we’d met (acquaintances since high-school…friends for six years.)  and as I continue to think about it now as I’m home and typing this blog….So. Much. Has. Happened.  Boyfriends have come and gone, jobs have changed, houses have been purchased, etc. etc.  And it seems like just yesterday we were both discussing whether or not we were “Nashville” enough to purchase skinny jeans and tuck them into our tall boots.  [they just didn’t do that in Mississippi back then…and we were both pretty fresh off the Mississippi boat].

And that’s just one friendship.  I’m so thankful for the girls I hold dear, and I feel like the Lord has blessed me with so many of them.  That’s another thing I feel like thirty has brought with it: a deepening of friendships in several directions….thankfulness for the ones I’ve had for years (exhibit A: Mary-Hall), the blessing of new ones (often from unexpected places), and the renewal and growth of several others.  I constantly stand amazed at the women the Lord chooses to bring into my life; how extraordinary they are in their own right, and how rich life can be when we encourage and walk with one another.

I’ve also lived enough to know that I won’t always be in this season.  Heartache will happen.  All my achievements will pale in the face of disappointments that I won’t seem to be able to overcome.  But I know that the Lord will remind me of how He brought peace, strength and happiness over the past few months and how He will bring that again.

So in closing, you’ve been good to me thus far, thirty, and I’m thankful.  I pray that I will continue to walk in the confidence and peace that I feel at this moment.  And when I fail, or when all does not go my way as I know is bound to happen, may I have the grace to press on, the covering of my Heavenly Father, and the continued love and friendship of those with whom I have community.

Further up & further in,

Bethany

P.S. In other news, I’m down another pound for a total weight loss of 9 pounds since January 1st! Only one more pound to go until I get to check “loose 10 pounds” off my list.  Keith and I are still doing bootcamp classes together which not only gets our bodies in shape, but has been such a fun experience for us as a married couple to take the class together…encourage each other….watch each other make progress and succeed.

P.S.S.  A shout out on the blog to anyone who can give me the title and author of the book where the quote “further up & further in” is from.  And no Googling…I’m putting you all on the honor system here.

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

6 responses to “Thoughts on Thirty”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Wow. Here I am twice your age plus one and I don’t believe I can express myself with the clarity and depth that you have in this recent blog entry. All I can say is that I rejoice with you in the place and season in which you find yourself and feel blessed to still be around to watch and listen and maybe be worthy of occasionally giving some “Mom advice.” May you continue to be blessed and be a blessing to others in the next 30.

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Thanks Momma. It’s been a sweet 10 and a half months thanks to this hair-brained idea to blog. 🙂 May you too be blessed in your next thirty…because let’s face it….we know you’ve got at least that much left. haha. love you.

  2. Mary Margaret says :

    Friend, I am SO thankful that we live in the same city! It was so good to catch up last week.
    Here’s my guess… C.S. Lewis? I know that I’ve heard it in a song…

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      MM – You have been such a fun addition to life…..once we finally got to find some time to hang out! 🙂 So glad you are here and also loving life!
      And YES……it’s C.S. Lewis! Anyone else got a book title?

  3. Sally says :

    Skinny jeans and boots – totally made me laugh out loud. I can totally relate. Being a graphic designer in Nashville, I always struggled with that. Ask Keith, I wore overalls most of the time… seriously, overalls… wt? Sadly, I must admit with just months away from “40” – I’m not much cooler. 🙂 Love your blog, love your spirit, love you and Keith. 😉 Oh, and I should add, you inspired me to make my own list “40 before 40” and I have about 5 things knocked off my list – I haven’t blogged about it, but when and if I do, I’ll send you a link. 😉 It’s HARD to come up with 40 things. Right now it’s more like 20 before 40. 😉

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Girl….I still want a pair of chocolate brown Carhart overalls. I never got them when I lived in MS and it was cool….but I still want them now even though I have NO idea where I would wear them. 🙂 And that skinny jeans and boots conversation is so etched in my memory that I could probably repeat it verbatum.

      I’m so proud of you for setting goals for yourself! You will rock it….whatever you put your mind to. It’s so fulfilling and such a fun challenge. I have two other friends that both turn 40 in a year and a half….and are making their 40×40 list together as a couple. It was so fun to hear her feedback on it.

