Halloween Costume

I love making Ransom’s Halloween costumes, all three years so far.  This year’s was super easy and quick, just like the last few years.  I almost dressed him as a garden gnome, because really, how cute are those little boys:

Everybody say “AAAAAAWWW”.   But no, I went another direction, knowing full well there’s no way 3-year-old Ransom will be a garden gnome either.. oh well.  Anyway, my other idea was also pretty cute and a bit more appropriate as I have a kid who 1) loves to be naked and  2) has white hair and 3) already yells “Bam Bam Bam” all the time. (Its the sound a hammer makes, duh.)

And, besides that, I already had almost everything I needed, save the orange fur and the brown belt. I picked up 1/4 yard of fur from Hancock’s for $2.50 and a belt from Goodwill for $1. So, yay for bargain costumes.

Ransom already an orange baseball cap and orange gym shorts, and a purple bone. And Camp Johnson provided us with a perfectly shaped cypress knee as Bamm-Bamm’s club and a can of white spray paint. I sewed a strip of fur to the top edge of the shorts, and then of course cut out little triangles from the bottom edge. Covering the baseball hat was easy too, just a hodge podge of sewing and hot glue.  I have to say, faux fur is very forgiving to work with.  And all those years of OM and cat costumes finally paid off.

Black cat photo bomb on Halloween – how appropriate!

And now, welcome to Thanksgiving season folks! I’ll be back on Monday with a post about the other project that’s been taking up all my “30×30” list time. Its done but not delivered yet. Yaba daba doo!

Tags: ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

2 responses to “Halloween Costume”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    What a cute little caveman!

  2. bethanybordeaux says :

    super super impressed, MH. You know I love an inexpensive DIY project…and it helps that your “model” is possibly the cutest child ever. I do think you should go for the garden gnome costume next year though. Since we have an affinity for garden gnomes and all.

