Bipartisan Sweet Potatoes

True to Bethany’s Thanksgiving post, I did make two sweet potato casseroles this year, one for each side of my family.  Yes, I intentionally signed up for the same dish for both gatherings so that I could just make a big fat double recipe and call it good.  That’s what I call using your noggin’ folks.  (All the sweet potatoes have made me extra country, obv.  I will not be limiting the hick-talk from this point forward either so go ahead and read with a bit of a drawl in your inner voice.)  I love sweet potato casserole and although I’ve eaten it many many times, I had never fixed it myself and I had no clue what was in there.   NO WONDER it tastes so good.

WARNING THIS RECIPE IS NOT PALEO OR ANYTHING ELSE HEALTHY.

Sweet potatoes are pretty good by themselves but in typical Mississippi style, this recipe incorporates a generous helping of sugar and butter and more butter and sugar…  So yeah, its pretty tasty.  Darn tootin’.

So, let me back up and explain one more thing.  Here in the South, people tend to have strong preferences about the topping on their sweet potatoes – its either marshmallow topping or pecan topping (say it puh-kahn please).  And I live in a divided household – me on the marshmallow side and August planted squarely with the pecans.  So, I deliberated for days about the matter.  Which to choose?

Why choose?

What this country needs now more than ever is a little bipartisanship.  (fiscal cliff ahem hem) That’s when it hit me, y’all.

Bipartisan Sweet Potato Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 3 to 4c sweet potatoes, peeled and cut up
  • 1 egg
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 3/4c sugar
  • 1/2c chopped pecans
  • 1/4c self-rising flour
  • 1/3c butter, softened
  • 1/2c dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 a bag of mini marshmallows

Directions:

  1. Boil the sweet potatoes in water until soft.  Drain out water.
  2. Mash sweet potatoes until fairly smooth.
  3. Add egg, melted butter, and sugar.
  4. Stir well.
  5. Place in buttered 13×9 casserole dish.
  6. In a second bowl, combine the pecans, flour, softened butter, and brown sugar.
  7. Sprinkle the pecan mixture onto the casserole in alternating rows, leaving “blank spaces”.
  8. Bake at 350°F for 20 minutes.
  9. Pull out of the oven and fill the blank spaces with mini marshmallows.
  10. Stick back in the oven for 15 minutes or until the marshmallows are gooey and browned.
  11. If you get impatient, you can use the broiler to brown the marshmallows in about 0.2 seconds.  Seriously people, do not take your eyes off of those puppies or they will be black as night.

Here’s a shot of my first batch going into the oven.

And here’s the semi-final product.  No-sir-ee, I was not generous enough with those marshmallows.

To course correct, I added a few more marshmallows and tried the broiler trick.  I kid you not, I looked away for maybe 20 seconds.

Great heavens to betsy, one side got a little bit too done.  But they tasted just fine.  Its only a tiny thin layer that really turned to soot.

That was the first batch.   The second batch turned out just fine, but I didn’t take a picture.  You know who did though?  Southern Living.

Yep, so much for my awesome original idea. Turns out plenty of people have gone there already.

OH WELL.

PS. Nobody in Mississippi says “darn tootin”. Except Elmo’s country cousin Elmer.  And he says it almost every day in our house.

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

One response to “Bipartisan Sweet Potatoes”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    Reading your blog was the perfect way to put a smile on my face – no – make that a big L O L – and make me wish I had a large helping of your (I love the name!) “Bipartisan Sweet Potato Casserole.” Yum yum!!!!

