At Laaaast

Cue Etta James people, I have finished the crochet egg project. My #4 list item was:

4. Crochet this one pattern that I’ve never been able to get right

And now, finally, its done.  Back in March, I wrote not 1 but 2 minor blog posts about this: here and here. Tricky little eggs, these are.  I mean, I’m no crochet expert but the concept here is really simple.  Basically they are just one stitch that you repeat over and over again in a circle.  Simple enough right?

eggs_final1

After much watching of youtube videos, I finally figured out some of my initial problems.  Progress is progress and I’m satisfied with these. My one complaint – Why are they soooo large?  Oh, except for egg #6 – the last one – who came out much smaller, and much more shaped like a real egg.  I liked him a lot.  But why oh why is he different from #2-#5, who were all basically the same. Tension problems, for sure.  Story of my life.

By this point, I no longer care whether they were all the same size or not.  You see, these are headed for a 3-year-old girl’s play kitchen.  And she won’t care.  I don’t think.  Ransom sure hasn’t brought it up as he carries them around in his dump  truck.

Here they are in their carton. Cute, but as I was initially concerned about, the lid doesn’t shut very well.  These are super extra large eggs, from large free-ranging chickens.

eggs_final2

Okay, they look cuter in the picture than they do in real life.

But I digress.  This list item is CHECKED OFF.

And contrary to the evidence presented on this blog, I WILL finish my list by the end of the month, each item address in some form or fashion.  WILL.  End of discussion.

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

9 responses to “At Laaaast”

  1. A Light at the End of the Fiber says :

    Congratulations! I won’t divulge to your readers what year it was when I remember you coming over for a craft night and working on one. 😉
    And I will also never admit how long I have been working on a certain knitted blanket that still yet rests in pieces in my craft room. Hooray for seaming? :-/

    • maryhalljohnson says :

      I know I know… its always the little things. I sure don’t like attaching pieces or weaving in ends or any of those little details…

  2. Momma Daniel says :

    Those eggs are as cute as they can be! Did you stuff the whole eggs/chicks or spray them with stiffener? The half shells are so cute too. For someone who spent lots of time back in another era crocheting bells for my Christmas tree, I understand about trying to get them consistently sized, etc. Lovely job, and I’m sure the recipient will cherish them.

    • maryhalljohnson says :

      I stuffed them with poly fil, but I bet the egg shells would benefit from the stiffener. Good idea! Looking forward to seeing you guys around Christmas time!!

  3. Pat Browder says :

    These are adorable!

  4. Commercial Spray Foam says :

    naturally like your web-site however you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.

    Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding
    it very troublesome to inform the reality however I will surely come back
    again.

    • Mary-Hall says :

      Hello ‘Commercial Spray Foam’! Thank you so much for your feedback. We take all criticism VERY seriously. Going forward, we will make sure to check our spelling using the so-called ‘spell-check’. Hopefully you will be pleased with the improvement you find when you do come back.

      Namaste!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. At Last | The Taylor Approximation - 09/15/2013
