Caveman Chili

In case my blog title made you think about the old Adams Family movie…..which of course is exactly where my mind went after I typed it….I will assure you that NO, my chili is not made from actual cavemen.

But it IS super delicious and I’m sure than any caveman would approve of it as being a recipe that they could easily throw together over their campfire after a long day of inventing the wheel or whatever it was they did.  This recipe (as always) is the product of marrying about 3 different Paleo Chili recipes I found on the internet.  I’ve thrown out some teaser photos on Facebook and have had many requests for the recipe….so….at long last….I give you:

Caveman Chili

Ingredients

*2 lbs lean ground beef (I think you could also substitute ground turkey or ground venison!)

*2 cups vegetable stock

*4 Tbsp olive oil (this is NOT needed if you use a non-stick skillet

*1 (6oz) can tomato paste

*4 cans (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes (I like to use organic, but whatever floats your boat)

*2 small cans verde salsa (I like “Herdez” brand from the international foods aisle)

*5 oz chopped yellow onion (about 1/2 a medium onion)

*1 green bell pepper, chopped

*1 red bell pepper, chopped

*4 cloves garlic, minced OR 1 tsp minced garlic from a jar

*1 tsp ground cayenne red pepper

*1 tsp ground ancho chili pepper

*1/2 tsp chili powder

*2 tsp dry oregano

*2 tsp ground cumin

*1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

*salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Add olive oil to a regular skillet (or use a non-stick skillet with no oil) and brown ground beef (or other lean ground meet) over medium heat along with onion and minced garlic.  Drain grease.

2. In a large pot add browned meat mixture, tomatoes, bell peppers, tomato paste, verde salsa, vegetable stock and all the spices.  Mix well.

3. Cover with glass lid and simmer mixture for at least 20 minutes on medium.  (I like to simmer mine for about 45 minutes)

4. Serve and enjoy!

Notes:

a) this version is a bit on the spicy side.  For a low-heat version, I would recommend the following changes in the recipe….

-omit one can of verde salsa

-omit red cayenne pepper and chili powder entirely

-only use 1/2 tsp of ground ancho chili pepper

-only use 1 tsp of ground cumin

b) while the Paleo diet forbids all dairy, I like to eat my chili with a 1/4 cup of grated cheddar jack cheese on top.  I’m sure it would also be yummy with fresh cilantro on top.  We also like to top our chili with thin slices of avocado.

c) This recipe makes approximately 6-8 servings.  You can totally freeze it or store it in the fridge to eat off of for a few days.  We think it even tastes better the next day!

Paleo Chili on the stove....Christmas dishtowels on the oven door....Tis the season!

Paleo Chili on the stove….Christmas dishtowels on the oven door….Tis the season!

Yummy bowl of Caveman Chili ready to eat!

Yummy bowl of Caveman Chili ready to eat!

In other cooking news, my dear friend Alexis Ward of Vivagood WON the Whole Foods cooking challenge yesterday!  We’re terribly proud to call her friend, and we wish she lived closer and could cook us some yummy dinner!

Tags: , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

4 responses to “Caveman Chili”

  1. vivagood says :

    Thanks for the shout-out! That chili looks delish!

  2. snati001 says :

    I love the Herdez brand of salsa! Looks like a nice mix of spices 🙂

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Isn’t Herdez yummy? I discovered it by accident….I found a recipe on the interwebs that called for a different brand that my grocer didn’t carry, so I subbed in Herdez and I love it!! You should try the spice mix….the secret is cinnamon for sure. yummy.

