Christmastime is Here….

Screen Shot 2012-12-24 at 10.54.46 PM

If we’d sent you all a Christmas card, chances are, it would have looked something like this. So here it is. Merry Christmas from the “Two Girls Turning Thirty” to all of our awesome readers!

Even though Mary-Hall and I currently live about 7 hours apart, our parents conveniently live only  20 minutes apart, so we always try to plan our holiday trips to intersect in some way.  [And sometimes they intersect even when we don’t plan for them to, which happened this past Mother’s Day.]  Two years ago, Keith and I went to MH’s parents’ house and ate some yummy chili with the Dale family.  Last year, MH and August ate lasagna with my family.  This year, they came back again  for Christmas Eve – Eve dinner and we decided to have chili again….except this time, I made my Caveman Chili recipe.  [I made a not-so-spicy version and even my anti-spicy-food-Mama enjoyed it!]  I guess next year, I’ll have to concoct a Paleo-Lasagna recipe to keep the alternating tradition alive.  As always, it was so fun to laugh, catch up, swap old stories and generally have a festive ole time.  Oh…and it was so fun to have MH’s parents stop by with Ransom who sported his plastic fireman’s hat backwards and insisted that my mom’s tiny dog was actually a cat.  [Side note: my cat is actually larger than mom’s dog, so give the kid 10 points for logic on that one.]

August, Mary-Hall, Bethany and Keith.  So thankful for these awesome husbands!

August, Mary-Hall, Bethany and Keith. So thankful for these awesome husbands!

It was SO much fun to kick off our Christmas travels with a Johnson/Bordeaux/Dale/Daniel joint diner extravaganza.  Family and friends certainly help make the season Merry and Bright.  But Christmas is more than just giving gifts and seeing old friends (even though both of those things are pretty awesome.)

One of my favorite parts of the Christmas story is when the shepherds came to worship the baby Jesus and then went about telling everyone what they had seen and heard.  And that was just the shepherds…guys who lived out in the field and kept the sheep alive…not any relation at all to Jesus.  Imagine then what Jesus’ earthly parent’s must have felt!!  But the text tells us that Mary (Jesus’ Mom) “pondered all these things in her heart.” I’m not sure why I’m so drawn to this part of the story. Maybe it’s because I’m a girl, and girls love being “in the know,” and this was the greatest secret of them all. Or maybe I’m just amazed by Mary’s grace and maturity, even as a teenager. Or maybe in this age of social media and our need for self-publicity, I find it refreshing that Mary’s response was to reflect, not tell everyone she knew that her kid was Special in a way no other kid will ever be.   At any rate, I found myself pondering things in my heart a bit tonight; events that have happened this past year, and a bit of self-evaluation as well. Some of it is fun and lighthearted. Some of it is heavy. As as I stood at the altar of my parent’s church tonight and took communion, I reflected on the birth of the Christ child and what that meant to me.  I don’t know what, if anything, the birth of the Christ child means to you.  But to me it signifies hope fulfilled, the deepest example of love, assurance that God has provided a way for me to know Him intimately, and that my story…even the messy and sinful parts…has been redeemed.

The sun setting on Christmas Eve on Pennington Lake where my parents live.  Photo Credit: Keith Bordeaux

The sun setting on Christmas Eve on Pennington Lake where my parents live. It seemed to fit the theme of reflection. Photo Credit: Keith Bordeaux

So Merry Christmas from both of us at TwoGirlsTurningThirty.  We pray that you will feel loved and valued by family and friends.  That something you’ve been wanting will appear under your tree.  That you will find encouragement in the close of 2012 and the start of 2013!  We thank you for your support and encouragement this year!  Happy Holidays!!  Oh.  And here are our ACTUAL Christmas cards.  We would’ve sent you all one….but the cost of stamps is up………

Screen Shot 2012-12-24 at 11.58.30 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-24 at 11.58.16 PM

Tags:

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

5 responses to “Christmastime is Here….”

  1. Pat Browder says :

    Merry Christmas to you both. It has been a blessing to me to read your blogs and treasure the journey of your lives. God has been faithful to you both and for this I am thankful.

  2. maryhalljohnson says :

    Merry Christmas to all! Wishing you all a joyous holiday!

  3. Momma Daniel says :

    We thoroughly enjoyed having the Dale, Johnson, and Bordeaux families here for a Christmas visit and wish you all the very best for 2013. (Hey, since this is the last week of Dec. 2012, does this mean that TGTT will be closing out? It’s been such fun reading about your various exploits, adventures, and accomplishments of the past year!)

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      Momma, momma…..of COURSE we aren’t shutting it down. 🙂 We ARE however making some changes which we’ll be sure to update you on soon!

