Ou est l’eau???

In the last week of 2012, i came up with only one New Years resolution: to drink only water for the entire month of January. So now I will tell you how it went, in excruciating detail.

20130218-165157.jpg

No liquid sugar, no artificial sweeteners, no caffeination. Is that crazy? Its not as drastic as it seems, because I don’t have the typical American coffee habit to deal with. However, at some point in 2012, Diet Coke become my favorite beverage. Maybe my thirty-year-old taste buds are starting to die off. Maybe the stuff is habit-forming. Have you seen the list of ingredients for diet coke?

Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame, Phosphoric Acid, Potassium Benzoate (to protect taste), Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Caffeine

I was drinking milk for breakfast, followed by hot black tea with sugar and milk, nothing for lunch, maybe a diet coke (with Vanilla, from Sonic) in the afternoon, and then half a glass of water for dinner.

What?? I used to drink mostly water. What happened? The less water I drank, the less I wanted.

We went to party on New Year’s Day and it was only water for me. In the beginning, it was tough. Water was so gross that I preferred to drink nothing.

Merely three days into January, I was offered a hot cup of ready-mix cappuccino, just after coming in from a frigid walk outside with Ransom. I was freezing. Folks, winter in Mississippi is just a few days long, and those days are all scattered throughout the typical “winter” months. If you are a season-lover like myself, well then you best enjoy winter when it happens because it ain’t gonna last long.

I drank the whole cup with all its caffeine and sugar, and I felt a little bit bad about it. I mean, I was only 3 days into my month-long water pact. I had plenty of time to repent when i woke up at 2am the following morning. I really am a caffeine lightweight people.

I suffered through a few more cold days before coming to my senses. I was on the brink of drinking a cup of plain hot water when I decided to shift the rules. I added plain herbal tea to the approved beverage list. Warm, and yet no caffeine or calories and really not THAT much flavor even. Basically still water.

MUCH better.

So then a week later, I got to spend a weekend at my brother’s house, for the first time. We were all having such a good time and he went out early and picked up donuts (!) and chocolate milk (!!) for breakfast. Novelties! When’s the last time I had a donut? I chugged that chocolate milk and didn’t think a thing about until half an hour later when I remembered my water pact. Alas. The shiny donuts distracted me.

In a moment of curly-fry induced thirst, I drank some of August’s root beer. We were in the car without any water.

And THOSE are the only 3 non-approved beverages consumed in the month of January. It honestly took a good 15-20 days before I really felt noticeably better. Better hydrated. Better skin. More “awake”. And I started to LIKE water more. And feel thirsty more.

Mid month, our ice maker broke. A ha ha. Of course. Luke warm water.

Guess what? Although ice water tastes better, I never finish the whole glass. Without ice, I’ll go back for refills. Lukewarm water is apparently, literally, easier to swallow. Who knew.

The rest of the month went smoothly. And guess where I went on 2/1, between the hours of 2pm and 4pm.

20130218-165507.jpg

I’ve had about one non-water beverage per day in February. That’s fine and all but I think I feel “less” good. I guess I should be water-only on a permanent basis. Is there a name for that? Aquaterian?

Ps The blog title is a hint at my focus for February!

Tags: , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

6 responses to “Ou est l’eau???”

  1. Momma Daniel says :

    As a Diet-Coke-a-holic, “I feel your pain.” HOWEVER, in the last 5 days, I TOO have gone cold-turkey to kick the DC habit. I’ll think of you for inspiration in moments of weakness.

  2. Momma Daniel says :

    Hey, what’s this “anonymous” business? What happened to “Momma Daniel?!”

    • Mary-Hall says :

      Well, turns out I have the power to change commenter names. So, problem solved. On your end, I think you have to type it in the Name box below the Comment box but I’m not sure!!

  3. Melissa says :

    I have friends who’ve gone water only for Lent before and I have considered it multiple times, but I don’t drink pop/coke/soda/coffee and don’t see the harm in Milk and tea. Glad to hear it made you feel better. I’m still tempted to give it a go!

    • Mary-Hall says :

      I love milk so much! And tea.. especially sweeten with a half-cup of sugar. I don’t think I have the willpower to actually give them up permanently but I am trying to drink them sparingly just because I notice a difference. I notice even more difference when I’m exercising regularly but that hasn’t been enough to get me off the couch lately. ha.

