Cooking Up Some Love…..

One of the items on my 30×30 list last year was “take an official cooking class.”  I did check this one off the list…just under the wire, I might add….by taking a class on how to make Guacamole at the Hilton Los Cabos.  But just between you and me, it didn’t quite satisfy what I had in mind when I originally added “cooking class” to my list.  The guacamole class was of the freebie, pull-up-a-chair, watch-the-demonstration-then-chow-down sort of variety.  I was thinking more along the lines of buy-the-class, go-to-a-bonafide-cooking-school-location, and chop-up-some-food-and-cook-it-under-the-watchful-eye-of-a-master-chef (not the hotel hospitality director).

Keith and I thought that this year for Valentines Day, instead of fighting crowds of sappy couples for the best tables at local eateries, or dropping some of our hard-earned cash on chocolate or stuffed animals, that we’d celebrate out-of-the box by taking a cooking class.  Unfortunately, others must have had the same idea because the Feb 14th class at our local Viking cooking school was sold out.  We found another class elsewhere that still had openings, but probably because the menu consisted of “beef tartare.”  I wasn’t sure I wanted to pay money to eat cow-sushi.  However, in his search, Keith came across the “Valentines 101” class at our local Whole Foods Salud! Cooking School, that was offered on the Sunday BEFORE Valentines.  The menu looked amazing, and Keith’s mom just happened to be coming in town for a Compassion International event, so plans were quickly hatched to learn how to make our own romantic dinner for 3!

We LOVED the class!  If you live in Nashville, you really need to check out all that Salud! has to offer.  We’re blessed to have one here as the only other three in existence are all in Atlanta.  Chef Karen was as personable as she was knowledgeable.  She walked us through not only the recipes (we got to make everything ourselves!) but also some kitchen basics as well.  I totally need the kitchen basics. (a few weeks ago, an old friend reminded me of how I once “boiled a chicken” for him and his roommate.  As in, I stuck a chicken in a pot of boiling water and then stuck it on a serving plate.  Yeah.  That happened.)  The school itself was pretty state of the art with fabulous appliances, a video screen system where you can watch whats cooking in the pots on the stove-top from your seat in the classroom, etc.  The menu was amazing….. winter salad with diver scallops as the starter, then filet mignon with madeira & wild mushroom sauce served with creamed spinach custards and oven roasted fingerling potatoes with rosemary as sides and then a La Bete Noire (“The Black Beast”) chocolate flourless cake with drunken raspberries and whipped cream for dessert….as if we needed more food after the starter and dinner!  [note: scallops were totally a new food for me!  Let the new-food tasting continue!]

If you’re like me all, you really want out of this post is some photos of us cooking awesome food and then a recipe, (and of course I am not one to disappoint in the photo-and-recipe department), you’ll totally enjoy the rest of the post….which consists of exactly that: photos and recipe from the class!  And if you’re still in the beginning phase of your cooking journey or you just don’t have time to cook, you’ll be pleased to know that the recipe I chose is super duper simple…the rosemary potatoes.  It’s cheap, its easy, it’s quick, and it’s a great addition to any meal….it’ll even make your boiled chicken more gourmet. 🙂

Hard at work chopping up something.  Don't I look like a real chef?

Hard at work zesting some oranges and lime. Don’t I look like a real chef?

Keith minces shallots like a pro.  Makes my eyes water just thinking about it.

Keith minces shallots like a pro. Makes my eyes water just thinking about it.

Keith's Mom and I working on the mushroom sauce.  No, we're not teaching the class....but I'm happy to let you think that we are.

Keith’s Mom and I working on the mushroom sauce. No, we’re not teaching the class….but I’m happy to let you think that we are. Check us out on the TV screens at the top of the photo!

IMG_3910

Our table for 3 with all the yummy food we cooked! They even let me take the tulips home.

Roasted Fingerling Potatoes w/ Rosemary

Kitchen utensils needed:

*an oven

*a tablespoon

*a large ziploc bag

*small round or square cake tin

Ingredients:

*1 pound unpeeled Fingerling potatoes (or other small/baby potatoes 1 to 1 & 1/2 inches in diameter)

*1 tablespoon olive oil

*4 large fresh rosemary springs

*dash of kosher salt

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

2. Place potatoes, olive oil and kosher salt in ziplock bag.  Shake vigorously.

3. Pour contents of ziploc bag into cake tin.

4. Pull “leaves” off the “stem” of the rosemary.  (this makes the flavor stronger.  For a more mild flavor, you can toss in the whole sprig). Toss rosemary sprigs in the cake tin with the potatoes.

5. Roast until the potatoes are tender and beginning to brown in spots.  Usually about 35 minutes.

_________________________________________________________________________

Of course potatoes aren’t on the “Approved” list for us Paleo folks.  So.  I’m posting a similar Paleo-friendly recipe that I found on the internet, and not at the cooking class.  And remember when I was tasting one food a month?  I took this poll and brussels sprouts did not make the cut of the original 8 foods.  However, since then I’ve bitten the bullet…er…sprouts, and discovered I love them!  Keith and I probably make this recipe at least once a week.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Kitchen utensils needed:

*an oven

*a tablespoon and a teaspoon

*a large ziploc bag

*small round or square cake tin

Ingredients:

*1 and 1/2 pounds brussels sprounds (with the ends trimmed and yellow leaves removed.)

*3 tablespoons olive oil

*1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

*1 teaspoon kosher salt (warning…go easy on the salt…….I speak out of experience.  don’t use more than a teaspoon.)

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. Place brussels sprouts, olive oil, ground black pepper and kosher salt in ziplock bag.  Shake vigorously.

3. Pour contents of ziploc bag into cake tin.

4. Roast in pre-heated oven for 30-45 minutes.  Every 5-7 minutes, take pan out and shake so that the sprouts brown evenly.  They will be darkest brown…almost black…when done.  (Don’t be scared if they look black on the outside! They won’t be burned inside!  Just yummy!)

Tags: , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

4 responses to “Cooking Up Some Love…..”

  1. Anonymous says :

    That sounds like a fun way to celebrate Valentines Day and have a family visit as well. (Did you get to keep the nice red aprons?)

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      It was fun! They have some excellent chocolate dessert baking classes I shall take you to when you come visit next! And sadly, no dice on the aprons. But I have SEVERAL at home so that’s probably ok. 🙂

  2. Mary-Hall says :

    I LOVE me some brussel sprouts. Will put both recipes on the grocery list pronto.

