Leaving the Doldrums

A few days ago I read a blog post by Jen Hatmaker (I reviewed her book Seven a few weeks back) called “Stuck in the Doldrums” that really resonated with me.  She describes being stuck in a state of stagnation, listlessness, low spirits.  I definitely know what she’s talking about.  There are aspects of our extra-long-relocation-adjustment phase that have been good, a time for reflection and reassessment, as I’ve said before.  But as the months have dragged on, that feeling of stagnation has built up more and more.

Random Aside: Am I the only one who loves 'The Phantom Tollbooth'?  Probably.  Here's the main character literally in the doldrums.

Random Aside: Am I the only one who loves ‘The Phantom Tollbooth’? Probably. Here’s the main character literally in the doldrums.

Finally, I think I can report that I’ve crossed the peak and that yucky stagnant feeling is OFFICIALLY subsiding.  Slowly but surely.  Here’s what I’ve been doing to break out of it:

First, I’ve been trying to focus on the GOOD, to highlight at least one great moment about every day.  This was Jen’s idea.  Instead of a brag board, I’m snapping instagram pics.  You can see them on the little “Insta Pics” feed on the right side of the blog.  Its too easy to dwell on the bad, so this is one step in the right direction for me.

Second, well of course the weather is helping.  Nothing says doldrums like the short dreary rainy days of winter in Mississippi.  The longer hours of sunlight, blooming flowers, green leaves, bright spring mornings, etc etc..  all these things are the opposite of stagnation, are they not?

Third, I started a new project.  It involves an old school projector screen, plywood, and paint.  That’s chicken soup for this soul, my friends.

And fourth, as of a few days ago, drum roll please… a very long and loud one…. We are UNDER CONTRACT for a HOUSE.  Amen.  Cue the hallelujah chorus.  It only took us 10 months to figure out what we really wanted.  {Mental note to self: let’s not get ahead of ourselves.  We have at least 3 hurdles to jump before we can really close the deal.  So, this figurative bridge is truly far from being crossed.}

Here are a few teasers about the new place:

  • We negotiated for the tractor.
  • There’s already a compost pile.
  • Bat houses
  • A wood burning stove

Wondering what mental picture you guys have now.  Something like this?

Hillbilly_House_by_cacospectamania

This?

2553292634_7235177c70_z

Neither one.  Sadly.  But I promise, I will be back next week with a plethora of real pictures!!

Tags: ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “Leaving the Doldrums”

  1. Jennifer Taylor says :

    House: jealous. Post-move doldrums: also yes.

  2. Anonymous says :

    Momma Daniel here! I’m sure many folks in Mississippi have shared your “doldrums” experience regarding the weather. But you’re right – spring has sprung – what appeared dead has resurrected! Many good wishes to you, August, and Ransom regarding your upcoming home purchase. Looking forward to seeing the pix!

  3. BethanyBordeaux says :

    Oh my goodness. I am so so excited about this but if news. You guys have been so patient yet persistent in your house hunt and glad that you were unwavering in what you wanted as it seems that you’ve found it at last. Yippee! (And hopefully you’ll be kind enough to blog about the renovation process as I think you hope to redecorate a bit. You know I LOVE a good house-project blog!).

    Also. I need to watch or read the phantom toll booth as it seems that most of my friends appreciate it, and I somehow have made it to 30 without knowing the story. Ill add it to my goodreads list. 🙂

