Brazil

Its funny now to look back on my 30×30 list.  Many of those things which seemed so lofty and out of reach in December of 2011 when I first wrote them out, are now parts of my everyday life.  Healthy eating and cooking for example.  (Keith just the other day said that he loves that I’ve stopped taking pictures of our dinners because a healthy-homecooked meal is commonplace now!) One of the things on my list was to visit a new country, which I did.

But this year has been different.  In March, I went to India.  And now, I’m headed to Brazil in June.  To sleep on a boat.  On the Amazon river.  The best way I could possibly think of to christen my new ENO hammock.  I’m so excited I can’t stand it.  I’ll be traveling with my boss Kelly Minter and a group from a non-profit organization called JMI: Justice and Mercy International.  They are a fantastic organization that seeks to “change lives by confronting global injustice.”  I hope that we will be able to do just that….change lives and confront injustice as we travel to Manaus.  Since I began this job last August I’ve heard lots about this place in the jungle and I’m beside myself that I am now getting the opportunity to go and see with my own eyes all that I’ve been told about.  There will be blogs-a-plenty about it when I return, no doubt.

While I don’t need to fund-raise for my actual trip cost, if you would like to be a part of the work we are doing in the Amazon, there IS a way you can contribute.  We will be bringing food bags along with us to distribute to families in need.  If you would like to purchase a food-bag for us to take on our trip, you can visit the following link: http://justiceandmercy.org/donate/ and then scroll down to where it says, “Support a missionary or Pay for a Mission Trip”.  In the blank simply type in, “Food Bags for June Brazil Trip.” Food bags cost $45 each, but you can give any amount that you wish to donate…above or below that amount…and it will go towards the purchase of Food Bags.  Please let us know if you choose to donate!  I would love to be able to tell the story of the family that your food bag supported.

In other news, our little blog is now on Twitter!  We’d love to have you follow us which you can do at @TwoGirlsTweet .  We’ll give you blog teasers and photos and anything else we can say in 140 characters.  Tweet tweet.

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

3 responses to “Brazil”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Sounds super-exciting! Gee, do you think if I make up a list of to-do’s and to-go’s, the opportunities will all of a sudden present themselves? 🙂

  2. Anonymous says :

    And I’m not “anonymous!” Momma Daniel above!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A Local Adventure | Two Girls Blog - 05/10/2013
