Paleo / Whole30 Balsamic Vinaigrette

Another bandwagon, folks! About 2 weeks ago I started a {slightly watered down} Whole30 experiment – a challenge to eat only healthy, whole foods for 30 days. The “approved” foods list is very similar to the Paleo diet that Bethany has spoken so highly of in recent months.

The rules of my Whole 30:

  • No chemicals
  • No preservatives
  • No dairy
  • No starches – rice, beans, potatoes, pasta
  • No flour
  • No soy
  • No sugar or artificial sweeteners

Now let me disclaim a minute: technically, all the approved foods (fruit, vegetables, meat, nuts) should be organic, free range, and grain-fed only. Psssh. They don’t sell that stuff where we’re moving so why bother now? And I have had at least 2 prohibited items in the last two weeks. Rules are meant to be broken.

BUT but but.

I have tackled several new Paleo friendly recipes. So far they are really really good. Did you know that spinach can go in ANYTHING? meatballs, tacos, whatever. You won’t even notice it.  I have eaten countless grilled chicken salads happily while others eat french fries. I skipped banana pudding at a family get together. My energy level is noticeably higher, especially right when I wake up. I haven’t had that gnawing awful hungry feeling in two whole weeks. And I don’t even miss the sweets. Really!

All that to say, try this Whole30 Balsamic Vinaigrette. It’s good no matter what diet you’re on and it doesn’t have a single sketchy ingredient.

Make it in a mason jar for bonus granola/Pinterest points.

20130604-224438.jpg

And in 16 more days, I’ll probably resume eating chocolate {life’s too short} but I’ll definitely keep some of these new recipes and maybe lay off the pop tarts for breakfast.

Paleo Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • 1/3 cup white distilled vinegar
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp ground mustard
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/3 cup red onion, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Mix it all up and enjoy.  I recommend it on a baby spinach salad with chicken and chopped strawberries, and a bunch of other veggies.

Tags: , , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer
