Ginna’s Outback Slaw

I’ve always been a picky eater.  Always.  I think it runs in the family because my grandmother used to tell tales of how sometimes all she could get my mom to eat were Hershey bars and gallons upon gallons of milk.  And I won’t even get started on my Uncle Bill.  Although he now loves lots of random things (like Indian food), as a kid I’m not sure what exactly he ate.  For me….everything had to be “plain” and if one food touched another? Forgeddaboudit.  I would refuse to eat either food.

Things started to turn a corner in my early twenties, and then got amp-ed up to a whole new level last year when I started the challenge of tasting and cooking one new food a month. (You can read all about that adventure by checking out my list here.)  And of course, being on the road as much as I am for work (I’m a violinist/personal assistant/tour manager in case you’ve been dying to know what I do in real-life), finding things to eat as a picky eater can be difficult.  I used to subsist on rolls before I went Paleo.  And once, I ate five Klondike bars out of a Green Room freezer at a gig.  I’ve gotten into a routine now where I can pretty much figure it out (I pack healthy treats in my bag, take advantage of any free time to find healthy food that I like, or request it ahead of time when that’s an option.) but the olden days….well…..they were tough.

Although my mother insists that I used to like coleslaw as a child (and I actually have a vague recollection of that), somewhere along the way, I stopped liking it.  Big Time.  Then one day…at this one event….someone assured me that the coleslaw being served didn’t taste anything like coleslaw and was delicious.  The ONLY reason I believed them was because my sweet friend Ginna Siniard was the cook at this particular event, and I’ve never eaten anything that Ginna made that wasn’t dee-lish.  Also, it just didn’t look like the coleslaw I knew and didn’t like.  So I decided to taste it.  Three servings later, I asked her for the recipe…and permission to post it on the blog, both of which she was gracious enough to give me.

So here it is.  I’ve named it Ginna’s Outback Slaw in honor of both the chef and the event where I consumed more than my fair share of it.  The perfect side at any summer BBQ.  Maybe you’re throwing one of those this weekend and this recipe is just what you need?

Ginna’s Outback Slaw

Ingredients: Veggies
* 2 packages of tri color slaw
* celery and green onion, chopped (you can often find this pre-chopped at the grocery store if you are in a hurry or are making a large batch)

Ingredients: Dressing
*1 Cup vegetable oil
*6 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
*4 Tablespoonssugar
* boullion from Ramin noodles package

Ingredients: Crunchyness
*1 package ramine noodles, crushed
*1 Cup sliced almonds
*1 Cup sunflower kernels  (please, no shells)

Directions:

1. Mix veggies together.

2. Heat vinegar enough to dissolve sugar and bouillon. Add to oil, mix well.

3. Toast crunchy bits on cookie sheet until crisp.

4. Toss dressing and veggies together.

5. Add crunchy bits just before serving, so it doesn’t get soggy.

6. Enjoy!!

Tags: , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

One response to “Ginna’s Outback Slaw”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Momma Daniel defends her child-rearing skills: You DID eat a large variety of RAW veggies even as a young child, thanks to the 12-vegetable salads you helped me cut up and make when you were only a 2 1/2 year old and I was on a special allergy diet. And I never promoted the consumption of rolls – that was a Daniel thing! 🙂 The slaw sounds wonderful! So glad your palate has become wiser with age.

