Weekend Update

Today I interrupt our regularly scheduled Monday, Wednesday, Friday posting system to bring you a brief Saturday blog entry.

Since my post last Wednesday about our first egg, I’ve had lots of folks wondering if we’ve had more eggs….and the answer is YES!….several times over.  Because I’m a graph kind of girl, here’s a little chart I whipped up for you this morning, followed by some egg and chicken photos for your viewing pleasure.  Based on the breed norms for New Hampshire Red chickens, I’m expecting to get approximately 100-140 eggs from Jane by the end of the calendar year.  I’ve also heard that chickens often stop laying for a little bit in the winter when it gets cold.  So instead of an every-other day thing, I’m thinking she’ll lay a whole bunch through, say, November, and then maybe go a few weeks or months without laying any.  So far my theory seems to be accurate, but we’ll see how this all plays out.

Can you believe we've gotten an egg 4 out of the past 5 days?

Can you believe we’ve gotten an egg 4 out of the past 5 days?

Eggs 1 through 4, labeled by date.  I know we won't always be able to do this record keeping system for every egg, but for now, it's lots of fun.

Eggs 1 through 4, labeled by date. I know we won’t always be able to do this record keeping system for every egg, but for now, it’s lots of fun.

A little morning Bethany/Jane time.  She's such a sweet girl.

A little morning Bethany/Jane time. She’s such a sweet girl.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

One response to “Weekend Update”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Tell Jane that Momma Daniel is SO proud of her grandchicken, even IF she’s “doin’ what comes naturally!” 🙂

