Cooking With Figs

The figs have continued to ripen out on the trees here, but the pace has slowed way down. No more picking half a bucket full every day for preserves, but that’s okay.  I’ve been looking for ways to incorporate them into our meals, and this is my favorite recipe so far. Its adapted from Southern Living (where else?), and when I first read the ingredients, I kind of gasped a bit.

The recipe could’ve been named ‘Best of Johnson Gardens 2013’.  Of all the ingredients, I only needed to purchase three things – the steak, the cheese, and some parsley.  All the other fresh ingredients are readily available in our garden, like so:

produce

What luck eh?  I’m definitely adding parsley to the garden plan for next year.

I’ve made this recipe three times in 5 weeks, and its definitely a keeper for the Johnsons.  Quick, easy, low cost, and really tasty.  And very unique.  We have been really blessed by the fruits of the previous owners’ labor and I sure plan to keep it up, brown thumbs and all.

If you don’t have figs, I’d substitute strawberries in the salsa.  And for the steak, I’ve used skirt, flank, and a thinnish sirloin all with good results.

Rosemary Steak with Fig Salsa

Ingredients

Marinade:
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Fig Salsa:

  • 3 cups chopped fresh figs
  • 1 green onion, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons seasoned rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

And of course:

  • 1 (1 1/4-lb.) flank or skirt steak
  • 3 ounces bleu cheese, crumbled

Preparation

  1. Mix up the marinade ingredients and rub onto both sides of steak; cover and chill 30 minutes to 4 hours.
  2. Preheat your oven on ‘broil’.  I used the high setting.  Cook the steak in a pan about 8 inches from the heat, for about 5-8 minutes per side.
  3. Let the steak rest for 5 minutes then slice into thin strips at an angle to the grain.
  4. Mix up the fig salsa. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Spoon fig salsa over steak, and sprinkle with Gorgonzola.

steak

Up next – is figgy pudding a real thing? 🙂  off to google…

Tags: , , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

3 responses to “Cooking With Figs”

  1. pat says :

    This sounds really yummy and I am going to give it a try.
    Enjoy all your blogs!

  2. pbrowder says :

    We tried this and loved it. We used venison cubed steak as that is what we had on hand and added 1 tbsp of honey to the salsa. It is a keeper!

    • Mary-Hall says :

      Awesome! Easy enough for a week night and “fancy” enough for guests.. my favorite kind of recipe. I should try it on venison, we have a freezer full and I have no idea how to cook it.

