A Southern Book Review

For my birthday last month, my sweet parents gave me some birthday money which I promptly combined with a giftcard I’d gotten and bought a dress from Anthropologie that I’d had my eye on.  But before I did that, I made a stop over at Amazon.com and picked up a copy of a book that I’d been wanting to read since I’d heard it was being written.  I might have waited about a year to get my hands on a copy of the book, but I didn’t wait to read it.  I finished it the day after it arrived in my mailbox.

I can't tell you how much I love this dress.

I can’t tell you how much I love this dress.

About a year and a half ago I was road managing an event in Tuscaloosa Alabama.  It was a stressful day to say the least: the lead singer had had to make an emergency doctor visit because he’d lost his voice and couldn’t sing, we’d done our entire load-in during an all-out monsoon (floods and musical instruments and equipment don’t generally play well together), and sound-check had taken about 3 times too long due to a mysterious buzz in the speakers (potentially due to the aforementioned monsoon, but whatever.)  The show was set to start at 7pm and at exactly 6:52 PM, we found out that the power company had planned a “scheduled 4 hour outage for general maintenance” for that same time-frame.  If you know me well, you can picture my frazzled face.  My dear friend Leslie had driven about an hour to see me that day and arrived in the middle of this chaos.  She’d brought her friend Sophie with her who happened to be a blogger, and was terribly excited for us to meet saying that we’d surely be friends.  Sadly though, hang out time was not in the cards that night as I had to say only a quick hello before dashing off to plead with the power company to please not shut down our concert (fortunately the VP of Alabama power attended the host church so crisis was averted with about 30 seconds to spare.)

But fortunately, we had the opportunity to meet again one evening in the lobby of a Best Western in Birmingham, Alabama where we ate cake from Olexa’s (ya’ll……the BEST) with some fabulous ladies and laughed into the wee hours of the morning (but that’s a whole ‘nother story for a whole ‘nother day blog).  And that night, Sophie mentioned the book she was working on.  The book that, fast-forward to August 14, 2013, I bought on Amazon.

My mom, Me, Leslie and Sophie...taken on the night of cake eating and much laughter.

My mom, Me, Leslie and Sophie…taken on the night of cake eating and much laughter.

A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Stories of Faith, Family and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon had me literally laughing out loud in bed one night….the same night that it had me shedding a few tears over stories of grandparents passing on and such.  My personal favorites involve her mother-in-law and Steinmart, although I’m pretty sure I could give a good case for each story being my favorite. You’ll also feel like cousin Paige, grandma Sissy, Sister, Brother and Aunt Choxie are your personal friends by the end of it.  Her writing is witty, inspirational and gosh-darn draws you in until you realize the only thing you didn’t like about the book was that you’ve come to the last page and you aren’t ready for the stories to stop coming.  And if you aren’t ready for the stories to stop coming, then you’re in luck.  Because Sophie writes a blog called BooMama, which means you can keep up with her hilariously snarky opinions on anything anytime you darn well choose.

A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet.  They say don't judge a book by it's cover....but in this case, that's totally a safe thing to do.

A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet. They say don’t judge a book by it’s cover….but in this case, that’s totally a safe thing to do.

Sophie reminds me of another favorite author of mine, Bailey White, whose book “Mama Makes Up Her Mind: and Other Dangers of Southern Living” shall forever be a favorite.  You should pick up a copy of each.  And then give em to your Mama.  Or Mama-In-Law.  Or StepMama.  Or GrandMama.  Or whatever kind of Mama you’ve got.  And then get ready to laugh and cry and rehash all your own favorite family stories.  Because family is ever so precious.

Tags: , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.
