Songs From Along The Way

Today is a red-letter day for me (as my Mom would say)….the day that I announce the secret project that I’ve been working on.  It’s one that’s been a long time coming…my first CD!  It’s been a dream for such a long time and it’s never worked out either due to timing, finances, logistics, or even fear.  But as I write this to you, the mixes are about 50% done, the album art is being designed and it’s a done deal.  And I couldn’t be more excited!

Some of you may remember when I played a show in Greensboro, North Carolina back in August.  Well, from that has come a live-recorded album of ten songs that I can’t wait to share with you.  It feels weird to describe one’s own style of playing, but I’d say it’s a little bit bluegrass, a little bit celtic, and a little bit pretty.  And anyone who has already heard snippets of the tunes all seem to say it’s the sort of thing they’d want playing on the stereo while they cook dinner or something.  Although I’m certainly no Sarah Watkins, think Nickle Creek without the vocals and all the extra instruments and that’ll give you sort of a good idea of what I’m going for.

The album has been titled “Songs From Along The Way: A Live Recording” and was recorded/engineered  in one take at Hope Chapel in Greensboro by Matt McKay and Griffin Kale.  It’s a collection of songs that have become favorites of mine over the 29 years I’ve been playing violin.  It’s all good stuff from different seasons of life and I hope you all love the songs as much as I do.

My dear friend Adam Moritz (Launch Studio, SpringHill, TN) not only played guitar but is mixing and producing the whole shebang as well and is doing an amazing job.  I’m so blessed to have such a community of talented and kind friends willing to lend their genius my way.  Genius and enthusiasm.  It’s been a blast working with Adam on this and this weekend I got the following video from him.  Seriously.  So fun.  (And, you can hear a clip of one of the songs, so…bonus!)

If you like what you hear, then the good news is that we’re giving you an opportunity to pre-order the album!  Just click on this link right here to go to my online store and then you have several ordering options from 1 CD, to a multi-pack of 25 in case you want to use them for stocking stuffers.  There’s also a way for you to make a small donation to the process to help offset production costs if you’d like.  The album will be ready the first week of December, and we’re throwing shipping in for free…but ordering now helps us in lots of ways, including figuring out how many CDs to order, but more importantly, it provides the funding for the project that bigger artists with record label backing wouldn’t have to worry about.  Since I’m an independent artist, your pre-order money stands in the gap in place of a record label bank roll.

Also, there are some new places on the interwebs for you to check out!  I’d love it if you went to my new Facebook Page and “liked” it

https://www.facebook.com/bethanybordeauxviolin

and, you can check out my new website www.bethanybordeaux.com

This whole process is moving so lightning fast that I can hardly believe it.  But I’m so grateful for this whole opportunity and can’t wait to share a little piece of me with all of you.  Thank you for all the kind words, tweets, facebook love, texts and phone calls I’ve already gotten from so many of you (I may be “officially” announcing today, but I’ll admit, I’ve “leaked” the info a little bit already!)  I can’t wait to continue this journey and bring you all along.

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

4 responses to “Songs From Along The Way”

  1. Mary-Hall says :

    Folks, I got to hear one track of this thing when I went to Nashville for the ole Hanson concert and it was excellent stuff!

  2. Anonymous says :

    Momma Daniel says: I’m so excited for you! Love the new website and FB pages and look forward to the finished product!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Another Secret Project | Two Girls Blog - 10/16/2013
