Time Tunnels and Blueberry Pancakes

By now, I’m sure that your Facebook newsfeed, like mine, has blown up with 485752934 status updates that go something like this, “Junior doesn’t seem to understand Daylight Savings Time!  We were up at 5:30 this morning playing games.  Sigh.  Life with Kids!” but, just in case it didn’t……then I bring you this public service announcement:

You should have turned your clock back an hour last night.

Daylight savings time is sort of silly if you ask me.  It just causes mass confusion every year over if your phone updated to the new time, or didn’t update.  People get to church an hour early, or an hour late, or worse….to work an hour late or an hour early because they somehow missed the memo over the weekend and made it to Monday morning without fixing their clocks.  I think the origins have something to do with farming, but seriously, who farms anymore?   I’d like my hour of daylight at the end of the day, please.

The best thing to have come out of Daylight Savings Time for sure however is this classic episode of “The Adventures of Pete and Pete” called “Time Tunnel.”  I think about it every single year on the Saturday of “Fall Back” and this year I took the time to hunt it down on YouTube for your viewing pleasure.  You’re welcome.

But instead of going on an awkward first date or tunneling through the earth to freedom with a tiny statue of lady liberty, Keith and I spent our “extra hour” of time warpedness by catching up on another classic TV show: Friday Night Lights which we’ve been watching via NetFlix for a while now.  We only have about 5 more episodes to go and I almost cannot handle it.  I can’t wait to get to the end, but also I so don’t want it to end.  I’m so conflicted.  And then this morning, I decided it was a good opportunity to do something I don’t do often: make pancakes.

I had a box of gluten-free pancake mix by Maple Grove Farms on hand that I’ve used before and that tastes really yummy if you ask me.  Of course it’s not sugary sweet and the pancakes are a little more dense than usual, but they certainly don’t taste like cardboard which lots of gluten free things can.  I added some blueberries from our blueberry picking expedition this past summer as well as some cinnamon and nutmeg and they were so tasty.  Of course, using our eggs from our chickens helped make them extra good as well.

Mixing it all up for some tasty goodness!

Mixing it all up for some tasty goodness!

Tip: instead of mixing the blueberries in to the batter, drop them in once they are on the griddle.  This way you can ensure that you'll get a good number of blueberries in each pancake!

Tip: instead of mixing the blueberries in to the batter, drop them in once they are on the griddle. This way you can ensure that you’ll get a good number of blueberries in each pancake!

I eat mine plain, or you can add some powder sugar or syrup.  Mmmm.

I eat mine plain, or you can add some powder sugar or syrup. Mmmm.

So there you go.  What I did with my extra hour.  I hope you guys lived it up!

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

One response to “Time Tunnels and Blueberry Pancakes”

  1. Barbara Daniel says :

    Your blueberry pancakes remind me of Elaine Phillips’ chocolate chip cookies. (Remember that – and why she did what she did???)

